Subject/Research Guides: Your WilmU Library Online: COVID-19 Resources & Research

Confirmed Cases Map & Data Dashboard

Interactive Map & Data Dashboard - Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE
View Coronavirus cases in real-time on this data dashboard and map.

Government Resources

Center for Disease Control (CDC)

World Health Organization (WHO)

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)

U.S. Department of State - Corona Outbreak Travel Advisory

Local Resources

COVID-19 Authoritative Resources

As new information and research about COVID-19 makes its way into the media’s coverage and discussion about the novel coronavirus, misinformation can creep into social media news feeds and other avenues of information consumption. It can be difficult to know where to find the most up-to-date, evidence-based information.

To aid you in your understanding and discovery of the latest authoritative information on COVID-19, the Library has developed this guide with relevant information sources and journals for you. This list includes a combination of government webpages, medical research from peer reviewed journals and academic institutions.

Let’s Flatten the Infodemic Curve - World Health Organization
We are all being exposed to a huge amount of COVID-19 information on a daily basis, and not all of it is reliable. Here are some tips for telling the difference and stopping the spread of misinformation.

Top Tips for Navigating the Infodemic
An infographic showing seven steps you can take to navigate this wave of information and decide who and what to trust.

Open Access Research

Articles and books produced by scholars that are freely and openly available without paywalls.

LitCovid
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to research articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
JAMA Network (Journal of American Medical Association)
Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness.
Cochrane Special Collections: Coronavirus (COVID-19)
This Special Collection has been created in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and is regularly updated. It aims to ensure immediate access to systematic reviews most directly relevant to the prevention of infection.
Annals of Internal Medicine
This open access collection of Annals of Internal Medicine articles related to coronavirus has with the latest information regarding the 2019 novel coronavirus.
American Psychological Association
Content from APA Publishing Relevant to the Topic of COVID-19.
National Library of Medicine
Includes links to clinical studies (ClinicalTrials.gov), public health emergency literature (DisasterLit), journal article citations (PubMed) and GenBank Sequence Data in the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 data hub.
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Elsevier’s free health and medical research on the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19.
SpringerNature - SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
SARS-CoV-2 is a new virus responsible for an outbreak of respiratory illness known as COVID-19, which has spread to several countries around the world. As a leading research publisher, Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data.
Wiley's Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak
Wiley Online Library - Coronavirus Resources & News
Science - Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News
The Science journals are striving to provide the best and most timely research, analysis, and news coverage of COVID-19 and the coronavirus that causes it. All content is free to access.
Taylor & Francis - COVID-19: Novel Coronavirus Content
This microsite provides links and references to all relevant COVID-19 research articles, book chapters and information that can be freely accessed on Taylor & Francis Online and Taylor & Francis ebooks in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research into COVID-19.
Ovid / Wolters Kluwer - Coronavirus Info
Provides the latest medical research articles regarding COVID-19 research.
BMJ - Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest news and resources
The BMJ is a weekly peer-reviewed medical journal. It is one of the world's oldest general medical journals.

Additional Resources to Explore

National Public Radio – Coronavirus Updates
NPR is a privately and publicly funded American non-profit membership media organization that broadcasts on a verity of topics and current events. The network has added this specific page for their coverage of the COVID-19 virus.
C-SPAN | Federal response to COVID-19 Outbreak
C-SPAN is trusted non-profit public service that televises many proceedings of the United States federal government, as well as other public affairs programming. The network has added this page specifically airing congressional hearings and other federal responses to the pandemic.
Johns Hopkins CSSE Case Tool
The Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University has compiled a global COVID-19 information into a data visualization tool that illustrates cases, deaths, and recovery around the world.
CIDRAP: COVID-19
The Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy maintains this Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resource Center. The website contains a bibliography, link to news, and other online resources for researchers and the general public.
UCMerced Library: COVID-19
This guide has materials related to COVID-19 and its impact on the economy, nationally and internationally. Contains links to white papers, brief reports/insights, and analysis of specific industries.

Tips for Searching PubMed

Because terminology is evolving so rapidly, and because recently added citations have not been indexed, some complex strategies are needed for thorough searching in PubMed.

The following search statement can be copy-and-pasted into the PubMed search box:

(((((wuhan) AND ((coronavirus) OR "Coronavirus"[Mesh]))) AND ("2019"[Date - Publication] : "2030"[Date - Publication]))) OR ((((2019-nCoV) OR 2019nCoV) OR COVID-19) OR SARS-CoV-2)