Faculty and students may use this guide to create persistent links to library resources to embed in Canvas. Select a database tab to find out where to copy the correct link to post in Canvas.
Persistent links are not always found in your browser window. Do not copy and paste the URL from the browser window of the selected resource unless directed to do so.
*NOTE to FACULTY: Be sure to check your library resource links in Canvas. Licensing of digital scholarly content can vary. Ebook and streaming video titles are especially affected by copyright restrictions and could be removed from our subscribed resources without the consent of the Library. Check links before courses begin to ensure access or to replace the resource. Contact the Library with any questions at librarycontact@wilmu.edu
Click on the "Share" button for any title in your Discovery results. Click on "Copy Link" in the box as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
EBSCOhost is a suite of over 25 databases with citations, abstracts and full-text articles.
Click on any title in your EBSCOhost results to get to the Detailed Record view. Click on "Permalink" on the right side. Copy the Permalink from the window as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
The EBSCOhost user interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025!
Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
*Link to preview the new EBSCOhost interface*
You can link to articles or search results by copying the URL from the browser window OR click on the arrow to create a link to share.
There are three options to link to videos in Academic Video Online and/or Alexander Street:
OPTION 1: Go into your course in Canvas. Go to a module or assignment and click on Edit. Click on the plug icon as seen in the first screenshot. Select "Alexander Street Video." Enter keywords in the search box to find videos on your topic. Click on any video in your results and select your embed size of medium or large as seen below.
OPTION 2: Click on any video title in your results to get to the detailed view. Copy the URL from the browser window and paste as needed. This link can be used inside or outside of Canvas.
OPTION 3: Click on "Share" and copy the LTI URL or Embed Code and paste directly into Canvas. This link and embed code will only work within Canvas.
There are three options to link to videos in Academic Video Online and/or Alexander Street:
OPTION 1: Go into your course in Canvas. Go to a module or assignment and click on Edit. Click on the plug icon as seen in the first screenshot. Select "Alexander Street Video." Enter keywords in the search box to find videos on your topic. Click on any video in your results and select your embed size of medium or large as seen below.
OPTION 2: Click on any video title in your results to get to the detailed view. Copy the URL from the browser window and paste as needed. This link can be used inside or outside of Canvas.
OPTION 3: Click on "Share" and copy the LTI URL or Embed Code and paste directly into Canvas. This link and embed code will only work within Canvas.
Select any title in your Credo results and click on it to get to the detailed record. Click on "Copy Link" at the top of the page. Copy the URL provided and paste as needed.
Copy the URL from the browser window as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
Persistent links can be found by clicking on any movie title and copying the direct link as seen below.
Click on any title in your Ebook Central results to get to the detailed view of the record.
To create a persistent link to the whole ebook, go to the book's Detail Page, then click (to the left below the cover image) as seen in first screenshot.
To create a persistent link to a particular chapter or page in a book, click on "Read Online" and navigate to the desired page. Click “Share Link” (in the icon bar at the top).
Once you click "Share Link", the link is displayed and you can copy it as seen in the second screenshot.
Click on any title in your Taylor & Francis ebook results to get to the detailed view of the record. Copy the URL from the browser window as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
Select any title in your Films on Demand results and click on it to get to the detailed record. Click on Share and then Embed/Link, and copy the Record URL to post in Canvas.
Click on any record in your Gale results to get to the detailed view of the record. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and copy the URL from the Source Citation as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
Click on any record in your HeinOnline search results to get to the detailed view of the record. See first screenshot below. Click on the Link icon for the persistent page link. See second screenshot below. Copy the URL and paste into a text editor such as Microsoft Word. Add the remote access prefix (http://mylibrary.wilmu.edu/login?url=) to the start of the HeinOnline URL.
EXAMPLE LINK: https://heinonline.org/HOL/P?h=hein.journals/ajcl49&i=1
EXAMPLE LINK WITH PREFIX ADDED:
http://mylibrary.wilmu.edu/login?url=https://heinonline.org/HOL/P?h=hein.journals/ajcl49&i=1
Paste the full URL into Canvas.
Click on any title in your Taylor & Francis (formerly CRCnetBase) results to get to the detailed view of the record. Copy the URL as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world, with more than 286,000 recipients of the print journal, more than 1.1 million recipients of electronic tables of contents and alerts, and nearly 25 million annual visits to the journal's website.
Click on any title in your JAMA results to get to the detailed view of the record. Copy the URL in the browser window and paste as needed as seen in screenshot below.
Click on any title in your JSTOR results to get to the detailed view of the record. Copy the URL from the browser window. Paste into Canvas.
Select any title in your Kanopy results and click on it to get to the detailed record. Click on the Share button as seen in screenshot, and copy the URL. URL format should look similar to this: http://wilmu.kanopystreaming.com/video/gods-own-country
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Access includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995.
Select any title in your Ovid results and click on "WilmU Library Full Text." Click on "Email Jumpstart," and copy the "Jumpstart URL" in the box as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
Click on any title in your ProQuest results to get to the detailed view of the record. Click on the Details tab and scroll down to "Document URL" as seen in screenshot below. Copy the Document URL. Another method is to click on the "Cite" button as seen in the third screenshot. Copy the URL within the citation and/or export the citation into RefWorks.
The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline and full text for more than 270 magazines and journals from around the world. Subject areas covered include: criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Click on the PDF icon for any title in your Sage results. Go up to your browser window and copy the URL as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
How to Embed Sage Research Methods Videos
Click on a video title in your Sage results. Go to the Get Link or Embed icon to copy the code to embed the video in Canvas or copy the link.
Springer Online is an electronic journal service that provides access to the full text of over 2500 journals published by Springer (the combination of the former Springer-Verlag and Kluwer Academic Publishers).
Click on any title in your Springer results to get to the detailed view of the record. Go up to your browser window and copy the URL as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
Click on any title in your results to get to the detailed view of the record. Scroll down to the Durable URL heading and copy the URL from the box as seen below.
Journal titles include Education and the Law, Educational Action Research, Educational Psychologist, Pedagogy, Culture & Society and Teachers and Teaching: Theory and Practice.
Click on any title in your Taylor and Francis results to get to the detailed view of the record. Copy the persistent link in the box as seen below. Paste into Canvas.
