HSC 333: Leadership for the Healthcare Professional
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowThis academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 serials, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free resource comprised of over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)This link opens in a new windowA free National Library of Medicine searchable catalog of research data sets, instruments, & software relevant to health services research, behavioral & social sciences, & public health. Records may include links to a PubMed search.
JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association)This link opens in a new windowJAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world, with more than 286,000 recipients of the print journal, more than 1.1 million recipients of electronic tables of contents and alerts, and nearly 25 million annual visits to the journal's website.
Sage Journals OnlineThis link opens in a new windowSage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowThe WorldCat database contains the merged catalogs of thousands of libraries and is collectively maintained by those libraries. Cataloged items span thousands of years and nearly every form of human expression. Records exist for physical items, electronic content, born-digital works and digitally preserved artifacts.
Search across all Wilmington University Library databases to access full text, peer-reviewed articles.
RAND Health – Surveys and ToolsThis link opens in a new windowAll of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use. The 64 surveys currently offered cover a wide range of health and health delivery concerns.
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowA database of over 225 questionnaires and interviews intended to assist treatment providers and researchers with screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. Measures that are widely used and have proven reliability and validity are noted with a gold star.
Human Service Organizations: Management, Leadership & GovernanceHuman Service Organizations is a leading, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to current research and practice in nonprofit and public sector human service organizations. Since 1977, it has provided timely and relevant research for human service managers, researchers and educators (originally established as Administration in Social Work). Building on a history of social service management, social policy implementation, and organizational research, the Editorial Advisory Board seeks manuscripts related to contemporary management, leadership, and governance issues facing human service organizations.
Harvard Business ReviewWritten for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Advanced Practice in Healthcare: Skills for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by Carol Cox (Editor); Marie Hill (Editor); Victoria Lack (Editor)Advanced Practice in Healthcare outlines the key components of advanced practice in which healthcare professionals are engaged. With a clear skills focus, it explores issues critical to providing effective enhanced care to patients whilst managing and negotiating the complexities of the healthcare delivery system. Perspectives on advanced practice are illuminated throughout the text and are designed to promote the formation of new thinking in relation to practice, education and research. The text is comprised of three sections that address different aspects of advanced practice and these in turn: Provide guidance on the development of clinical skills, including consultation, clinical decision making, holistic care, and the role of care planning in advanced practice. Explain management skills and how to manage, negotiate and monitor the complexities of the healthcare system in order to ensure the delivery of quality patient care. Clarify the professional role of the advanced practice clinician and how implementation of the role can improve the delivery of patient care. In each chapter activities are presented that assist in the development, implementation and extension of advanced level practice. This text is especially relevant to nurses, midwives and allied health professionals practising within primary and secondary care who wish to advance their practice or clarify their roles within the context of advanced practice, particularly those undertaking masters level study.
Publication Date: 2011, eBook
Building Health Workforce Capacity Through Community-Based Health Professional Education by Patricia A. Cuff (Editor); Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education; Board on Global Health; Institute of MedicineThere is growing evidence from developed and developing countries that community-based approaches are effective in improving the health of individuals and populations. This is especially true when the social determinants of health are considered in the design of the community-based approach. With an aging population and an emphasis on health promotion, the United States is increasingly focusing on community-based health and health care. Preventing disease and promoting health calls for a holistic approach to health interventions that rely more heavily upon interprofessional collaborations. However, the financial and structural design of health professional education remains siloed and largely focused on academic health centers for training. Despite these challenges, there are good examples of interprofessional, community-based programs and curricula for educating health professionals. In May 2014, members of the Institute of Medicine's Global Forum on Innovation in Health Professional Education came together to substantively delve into issues affecting the scale-up and spread of health professional education in communities. Participants heard a wide variety of individual accounts from innovators about work they are undertaking and opportunities for education with communities. In presenting a variety of examples that range from student community service to computer modeling, the workshop aimed to stimulate discussions about how educators might better integrate education with practice in communities. Building Health Workforce Capacity Through Community-Based Health Professional Education summarizes the presentations and discussion of this event.