Skip to main content

Free and Expanded Access to Scholarly Resources During COVID-19 Crisis : Home

Free and Expanded Access to Scholarly Resources During COVID-19 Crisis

New and Expanded Resources

Temporary and Expanded Access Available Courtesy of the Following Vendors:

Annual Reviews

"All Annual Reviews journals will continue to be available without access control through 15 June 2020. This is to assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the pandemic."

Booklist

All Booklist and Book Links content is now freely available until further notice. To learn how to put Booklist Online to work, please view this informative video tutorial. Free online access includes:
-More than 25 years of recommended print and audiobook reviews, features, interviews, spotlights, and classroom connections
-Booklist and Book Links replica digital editions, which can be read on desktop or mobile devices
-Advanced search functionality
-Readers’ advisory and collection development tools

Cambridge University Press

"Cambridge University Press is offering free, online access to higher education textbooks and coronavirus research during the COVID-19 outbreak. In addition, existing customers are being offered free access to key reference works on request to help them overcome the disruption caused by the global response to the pandemic. All 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020."

Cengage (eBooks)

"If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms. Please click here for more information on how to set that up."

Digital Concert Hall - Berlin Philharmonic

"Enjoy our Digital Concert Hall for free for 30 days. Just copy & paste the code BERLINPHIL at https://digitalconcerthall.com/tickets
The Philharmonie Berlin is closed until 19 April to help contain the coronavirus. But the orchestra will continue to play for you – in the Digital Concert Hall. The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall free of charge."

eBook Central

"ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and  three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. See a list of participating publishers here – and check back regularly, as the list is constantly growing.

EBSCO Faculty Select

"Faculty Select is a single interface where faculty can easily discover and access Open Educational Resources (OER), as well as find and request access to unrestricted, DRM-free e-books from top academic publishers. With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks™ in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020."

eBooks from Internet Archive National Emergency Library

NOTE: Users must create a free account with Internet Archive to access eBooks.

"To address our unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials, as of today, March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later."

GeoScience World eBooks

"To help support online learning and remote research for the remainder of the semester, the GeoScienceWorld book publishers below have extended public access to all of their ebooks through June 30, 2020."

  • American Association of Petroleum Geologists
  • Canadian Science Publishing
  • Clay Minerals Society
  • Geological Society of America
  • Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland
  • PSAAPG
  • SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology
  • Society of Economic Geologists
  • University of Wyoming

HeinOnline Academic

HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases. Access through December 15, 2020.

JoVE Videos

"JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Watch our scientific video articles. JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. You can fill out the following form to request access."

JSTOR

"JSTOR is expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through December 31, 2020. We are working with publishers to make more than 20,000 books available at no charge for JSTOR-participating academic institutions and secondary schools that do not participate in our books program. The number of books available through this effort is growing daily as more publishers opt in. Further details about this program, participating publishers, and links to other useful resources can be found at about.jstor.org/covid19/."

Kahoot - COVID-19 Free

      "We’ll provide you with free access to Kahoot! Premium until the end of this school year." 

Kahoot! is a game-based learning platform that brings engagement and fun to 1+ billion players every year at school, at work, and at home.

Met OnDemand

"The Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps."

MIT Press Direct

"With the coronavirus outbreak disrupting campus activities around the globe, the MIT Press is offering libraries complimentary access to the MIT Press Direct collection of 2,770 MIT eBooks through the end of June 2020 to support faculty and students who are working and learning remotely."

Ohio State University Press

"For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook Language Files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ institutional repository, the Knowledge Bank."

On the Boards.TV

"Free 48 hour access to all performances available through their site.The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. We work with our hand-picked film crew to capture live performances, edit collaboratively with the artists, and deliver the best possible video performance straight to you. All proceeds are shared with the artist, so each time you buy or rent a film, you put money directly in an artist’s pocket."

Oxford University Press

"At Oxford University Press, we understand the challenges of building an online course, even in the best of circumstances. Whether you are an adopter of an Oxford University Press text or not, we can help you. Below are a number of free resources that will help you and your students experience as little disruption as possible as you move to online teaching and learning."

Paris Art Museum

"Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others."

Project MUSE - COVID-19 Free

"Content that is freely available on the Project MUSE platform during the COVID-19 crisis will display a distinctive “Free” icon, different from the “OA” icon used for fully open access content on MUSE, or the familiar green checkmark that users associate with content held by their library. MUSE search results (muse.jhu.edu/search), by default, include any content to which a user has access, so will offer the researcher any relevant free, OA, or entitled articles and books.There are over 2000 open access books and a small number of fully OA journals on the MUSE platform. More information here on MUSE OA content."

Psychotherapy.net

"Effective Immediately, in response to the COVID 19 outbreak, Psychotherapy.net is offering educational institutions free 60 day trials to our Full Collection of Psychotherapy, Counseling, and Social Work Videos to help with the transition to online teaching. Trial access available through May 23, 2020."

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions) and Concise Guide to APA Style - Free access through RedShelf

NOTE: Users must create a free account with RedShelf to access eBooks.

"To support academic libraries and their many patrons, we are providing temporary free access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books through VitalSource and RedShelf. These will be available for free to instructors and students at participating nonprofit academic institutions affected by campus closures until May 25, 2020."

RedShelf

"To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)"

ScienceDirect

"The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed.  Access the title list here."

University of California Press

"In recognition of the impact of Covid-19 on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020. See UC Press’s full list of journals. UC Press publishes scholarly journals in the following subject disciplines: Architecture, Area Studies, Art and Visual Culture, Biology, California and the West, Classics, Communication Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Environmental Science, Film and Media, Food Studies, Global Studies, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Law, Literature and Criticism, Music, Politics, Psychology, Religion, Research Methods, and Sociology."

University of Michigan Press eBooks - COVID-19 Free

"In response to the request of the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) for “creative solutions that allows critical access to publisher content for the research and public health communities,” University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term. Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the UMP EBC until the end of August  2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Included in the Collection are over 200 titles used in student courses and almost 300 award-winners. Strengths include political science and public (including health) policy, performing arts, classical and medieval studies, American studies, and Area studies (especially East Asian, African, and German studies)."

VitalSource

"VitalSource® has joined leading publishers to help ensure students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic will have free access to quality digital learning materials through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester. Beginning March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf. Click here for a full list of publishers, but include APA, Cengage Learning, MacMillian Learning, Pearson Education, Wiley, and many more. Students who need assistance accessing free eTexts can visit here."

Other resources specifically on coronavirus disease (COVID-19):