Project Resources & Terms - Diversity Studies Guide - IDS 371/430/431 - Subject/Research Guides at Wilmington University Library

Search ALL Library Resources

Library Databases with Diverse Content

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 serials, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
Exploring Race in Society provides an in-depth look at the history of race and delivers critical essays on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusivity, offering necessary resources for developing a better understanding of the experiences of racial groups in society. In addition to the essays, ERIS includes full-text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, nonprofit organizations, primary source documents and government agency reports.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline and full text for more than 270 magazines and journals from around the world. Subject areas covered include: criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
Data USA This link opens in a new window Data USA, the most comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data, tells millions of stories about America through advanced data analytics and visualization. Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, you can simply point to Data USA to answer your questions on critical issues facing the United States like jobs, skills and education across industry and geography. Created in 2014 by Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo, Professor at the MIT Media Lab and Director of MacroConnections.
Diversity Collection from Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Diversity features resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures—which draw heavily on late 20th- and early 21st-century archival text and footage—create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes the complete text of Opposing Viewpoints and other series, including Teen Decisions and At Issue. Use this database to find opinion essays and factual research information on current topics and social issues.

Glossaries and Definitions of Terms

Language can be complicated. Not everyone means the same thing when using the same words. Consider how the term 'junk' could mean 'trash' to one person, 'disorganized but useful stuff' to another person, and might refer to something not discussed in polite company to a third person!

Learn more about some terms used and how they can be defined.

DEI Dictionary
Diversity Definitions Handout
Implicit Bias and Structural Inequity
Produced by https://www.nationalequityproject.org/

Antiracism glossary for education and life (2021) To create an antiracism glossary, a team of scholars from Colleagues of Color for Social Justice (CCSJ) identified and defined 48 terms relating to racism and antiracism based on a careful review of existing race-related glossaries, scholarly articles, and widely-read books on the topic. This glossary of terms illustrates the daily and pervasive nature of racism that people of color experience and fills a demonstrable gap in resources of this type for college learning assistance centers and programs. The purpose is to recognize and explain terms related to attitudes, behaviors, and policies that impact people’s lives, particularly within academia. The glossary lists the terms in alphabetical order with multiple definitions from various resources and easy to understand examples drawn from personal lives, communities, and professional experiences in educational settings

Gender / Sexuality Terms

Agender	Androgyne	Aromantic / Asexual person
Bigender / dual gender	Bisexuality	Femininity
Feminism / Feminist	Gay liberation movement	Gay rights
Gays	Gender identity	Gender nonconformity
Genderqueer / genderfluid	Hermaphroditism	Heterosexism
Homophobia	Homosexuality	Intersex people
Intersexuality	Lesbian	LBG / LBGTQ / LGBTTQQIAAP
Masculinity	Man / Men	Misogyny
Nonbinary gender identities	Pansexual / omnisexual	Queer
Questioning	Same-sex marriage	Sex differences
Sex discrimination	Sex role	Sexism
Sexual freedom	Sexual minorities / Sexual minority	Sexual orientation
Transgender / Cisgender	Transphobia	Transsexuals
Two Spirit	Woman / Women / Womyn / Womxn	Women's rights

Race/Ethnicity

Asian	Asian Indian	African
Afro-Caribbean/African Caribbean	Bangladeshi	BIPOC
Biracial	Black	Color blind
Caucasian	Chinese	Ethnicity
Ethnic minority	Ethnocentrism	European
First Nations people	Hapa	Hispanic
Indian	Indigenous	Irish
Majority population	Minority ethnic group	Multiethnic
Multiracial	POC / People of color	Native
Oriental	Pakistani	Race awareness
Racial equity / racial justice	Racism	Racial prejudice
South Asian	Western	White
White Privilege / Unearned advantage	White supremacy	Xenophobia

General Terms

Accessibility
Advocate
Ally
Diversity
Equity
Erasure
Hate crime
Implicit Bias
Inclusion
Inclusive language
In‐group Bias
Intersectionality
Intersectionality
Intolerance
Marginalized
Microaggression
Model Minority
Oppression
Persecution
Prejudice
Privilege
Segregation
Silencing
Social Identity
Social Justice
Spotlighting
Stereotype
Stigma
System of Oppression
Tolerance
Unconscious Bias
Unearned advantage
Worldview

Diverse Culture Terms

Appropriation

Assimilation

Bigotry

Colonialism

Cross cultural studies

Cultural diversity

Cultural pluralism

Cultural psychiatry

Diaspora

Discrimination

Dominate Culture

Ethno-psychology

Equity / Equality

Multiculturalism

Transcultural

Class / Status Terms

Blue collar workers
Class consciousness
Classism
Distributive justice
Economic development
Educational attainment
Healthcare Disparities
Income distribution
Middle class
Poor
Poverty
Public welfare
Rich people
Social capital (Sociology)
Social classes
Social conflict
Social mobility
Social security
Social service
Social status
Social stratification
Socioeconomic Factors > United States.
Socioeconomic status
Wealth
White collar workers
Working class

Diversity Studies Guide - IDS 371/430/431

Using Radar to Evaluate Resources

Different Ability Terms

Religious Terms

Age Descrimination