Subject/Research Guides: Dissertations & Theses/Capstones: Find Dissertations & Theses

Dissertation, Thesis and Capstone Databases

Dissertations & Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of dissertations and theses offering 5 million citations and 2.5 million full-text works from thousands of universities all over the world.
PQDT Open This link opens in a new window
Access freely available dissertations and theses online.
Open Dissertations (formerly American Doctoral Dissertations) This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It is a free database with records for more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from around the world. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.

Wilmington University Dissertation, Theses and Capstone Databases

Dissertations & Theses @Wilmington University This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses @Wilmington University provides full-text of all dissertations written by Wilmington University graduates, which can be downloaded in PDF format.
Wilmington University Institutional Repository - Dissertation Collection This link opens in a new window
Browse through Wilmington University's most recently digitized dissertations.
Wilmington University Capstones & Theses Repository This link opens in a new window
Browse through Wilmington University's capstone projects.

Cite this Library Guide

Wilmington University Library. (2020, July). Dissertations & Theses. https://libguides.wilmu.edu/dissertations

APA 7th edition. Always verify your formatting and punctuation.

[Revised by M. Jones: July, 2024]

What is a dissertation?

A dissertation is a book-length thesis or treatise prepared as a requirement for the award of a doctoral degree (Ed.D., D.B.A., D.N.P., Ph.D.)

What is a thesis?

A thesis is book-length essay or treatise prepared as a requirement for the award of a master's degree.

Why use these for my research?

Dissertations can be especially useful for locating recent research that may not yet be published in book or article format. Revised dissertations are often published later as books or scholarly articles; to find these, try searching for other works written by the same author.

We are here to help you!