CSMA Core Curriculum for Case Management by Hussein M. Tahan; Teresa M. TreigerThis comprehensive, expertly-written guide provides those directly or indirectly involved in case management with information about best practices, descriptions of key terms, essential skills, and tools that fulfill the current Case Management Society of America's (CMSA) standards and requirements. Addressing the full spectrum of healthcare professional roles and environments, this is both a crucial certification study guide and vital clinical resource for the case management professionals in all specialty areas, from students to veteran case managers. This unique resource provides the core knowledge needed for safe, cost-effective case management with the following features ... NEW text boxes highlighting key information and vital practices in each chapter NEW and updated Standards of Practice implications in each chapter NEW and updated content on transitions of care, community-based care, care coordination, Value-Based Purchasing, ethics and social media, the impacts of health care reform, and digital technology NEW and updated content on accreditation in case management NEW chapter that lists key additional resources, by topic Official publication of the Case Management Society of America , connecting CMSA core curriculum to current CMSA Standards of Practice Easy-to-grasp, detailed topical outline format for quick scan of topics Complete, updated core knowledge required of case managers, with expert descriptions and direction on areas including: Case management roles, functions, tools, and processes Plans, clinical pathways, and use of technology Transitional planning Utilization management and resource management Leadership skills and concepts Quality and outcomes management; legal and ethical issues Education, training, and certification Health care insurance, benefits, and reimbursement systems Practice settings and throughput Interdisciplinary teams' needs in: hospitals, community clinics, private practice, acute care, home care, long-term care and rehab settings, palliative care, and hospice settings Up-to-date guidance on case management specialty practices, including: nursing, life care planning, workers' compensation, disability management, care of the elderly, behavioral health, transitions of care, subacute and long-term care, utilization review/management, primary care and medical/health home, and more Essential content for academic reference, training, certification study, case management models design, performance or program evaluation
Publication Date: 2016-08-27
Financial Management of Health Care Organizations by William N. Zelman; Michael J. McCue; Noah D. GlickThoroughly revised, this third edition of Financial Management of Health Care Organizations offers an introduction to the most-used tools and techniques of health care financial management. Comprehensive in scope, the book covers a broad range of topics that include an overview of the health care system and evolving reimbursement methodologies; health care accounting and financial statements; managing cash, billings, and collections; the time value of money and analyzing and financing major capital investments; determining cost and using cost information in decision-making; budgeting and performance measurement; and pricing. In addition, this new edition includes information on new laws and regulations that affect health care financial reporting and performance, revenue cycle management expansion of health care services into new arenas, benchmarking, interest rate swaps, bond ratings, auditing, and internal control. This important resource also contains information on the 2007 Healthcare Audit Guide of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). Written to be accessible, the book avoids complicated formulas. Chapter appendices offer advanced, in-depth information on the subject matter. Each chapter provides a detailed outline, a summary, and key terms, and includes problems in the context of real-world situations and events that clearly illustrate the concepts presented. Problem sets that end each chapter have been updated and expanded to support more in-depth learning of the chapters' concepts. An Instructor's Manual, available online, contains PowerPoint and Excel files.