Subject/Research Guides: AFM 6650 Family Resource Management: Find Articles

How to Find your Family Science Articles

Approved Family Science Journals

Library Journal Locator Video Transcript
This transcript includes times (0:00) to coordinate with the video and added [descriptive] content to aid users with limited vision, 6/2022

This video will assist you in locating specific journals using the Library Journal Locator tool. You can use this tool to locate journals by title. Approved journals for the Applied Family Science program are linked below. Click on a journal title link to begin searching within these journals.

To search multiple journal titles provided by EbscoHost, use the button labeled "Search Multiple Family Science Journals"

Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal Publishes original research and scholarly reviews in all areas of home economics and related disciplines concerned with the general well-being of families and individuals. Child and family studies, clothing.
Family Process Family Studies; Family Counseling; Family Psychology. Peer reviewed
Journal of Child and Family Studies Journal of Child and Family Studies (JCFS) is an international, peer-reviewed forum for topical issues pertaining to the behavioral health and well-being of children, adolescents, and their families. Interdisciplinary and ecological in approach, the journal focuses on individual, family, and community contexts that influence child, youth, and family well-being and translates research results into practical applications for providers, program implementers, and policymakers.
Journal of Consumer Affairs Articles on consumer policy, consumer education, consumer economics and consumer behavior having clear implications for government, household or business policy.
Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences Refereed articles aimed at improving the quality and standards of individual and family life.
Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences Education Contains original research, literature reviews, conceptual & theoretical essays, position papers & reports of innovative practice in all areas of education for family & individual well-being to facilitate communication among members of the family, etc.
Journal of Family and Economic Issues Journal of Family and Economic Issues (JFEI) examines the intricate relationship between the family and its economic environment. Contributions address important issues in family management, household division of labor and productivity, relationships between economic and non-economic decisions, and the interrelation of work and family life, among others.
Journal of Family Studies Focuses on the wellbeing of children in families in process of change; aims to bring together the best research and practices available to support children and families though periods of transition, especially when associated with high conflict levels.
International Journal of Children’s Rights Covers law, legal and political theory, psychology, psychiatry, educational theory, sociology, social administration and social work, health, social anthropology, economics, theology, and history to further children's rights in the world.
more...less...
This journal has a 36 month embargo. Any articles published in the last 36 months will need to be requested through interlibrary loan to gain full text.

NCFR Published Journals

Family Relations Aimed at practitioners serving the family field through education, counseling and community service; Reports of experiences in these areas, leads to explore, evaluations of work using innovative methods, application of research and theory to practice.
GrandFamilies: The Contemporary Journal of Research, Practice and Policy
Journal of Family Theory and Review Publishes original contributions in all areas of family theory.
Journal of Marriage & Family Original theory, research interpretation, and critical discussion of materials related to marriage and the family.

Search Multiple Family Science Journals

Click the button to start a search and add keywords to the empty search fields. *

*Note: Do not remove the journal titles from the first search box. Doing so will cause the search results to be from other journals not approved for the AFM program.

This multiple search option will NOT provide a search for ALL of the approved Family Science Journals.

You will need to use these individual title links to search within the following:

Childhood: A Journal of Global Child Research Childhood is a major international peer reviewed journal and a forum for research relating to children in global society that spans divisions between geographical regions, disciplines, and social and cultural contexts. Childhood publishes theoretical and empirical articles, reviews and scholarly comments on children's social relations and culture, with an emphasis on their rights and generational position in society.
Family Science Review Family Science Review is a peer-reviewed journal published by the Family Science Association. We publish scholarly articles that focus on family research, theory, policy and education. Articles with implications for strengthening all family types, including diverse families, are strongly encouraged.
Global Studies of Childhood Global Studies of Childhood is a peer-reviewed, internationally focused, online research journal. GSC aims to present opportunities for scholars and emerging researchers to interrogate the ways in which globalization and new global perspectives impacts on childhoods. We hold a broad view of childhoods that goes beyond the traditional biological and chronological age definitions. We are interested in alternative conceptualisations of childhoods and the challenges inherent to young peoples contemporary and future lives in increasingly complex globalised world contexts.
Journal of Extension The Journal of Extension (JOE) is the official refereed journal for Extension professionals. JOE expands and updates the research and knowledge base for Extension professionals and other adult educators to improve their effectiveness. In addition, JOE serves as a forum for emerging and contemporary issues affecting Extension education.
Journal of Family Issues Journal of Family Issues (JFI), published 16 times per year, provides up-to-date research, theory, and analyses on marriage and family life. With JFI, you'll also examine professional issues, research developments, and practical applications from an interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing such areas as: Family Studies, Family Violence, Gender Studies, Psychology, Social Work, and Sociology. Each issue features articles, commentaries, and advocacy pieces designed to help you understand the challenges confronting today's families.
The Family Journal The Family Journal (TFJ) advances the theory, research and practice of counseling with couples and families from a family systems perspective. Research articles include quantitative, qualitative, and evaluation designs. Descriptive articles address current issues, innovative methods, and professional concerns. Other offerings include case studies, interviews, and timely literature reviews. The journal provides groundbreaking, innovative scholarship for counseling researchers, educators and practitioners.

Search ALL Library Resources

Recommended Databases

You can use these library subject specific databases to search for articles. Click on a database title to begin searching. The videos and tutorials in our Library Tutorials guide can help you with navigating the databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 serials, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers. SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.APA PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1600s. 99% of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.

Library Databases A-Z list
Complete list of WilmU library databases that can be sorted by subject, type or search by title of database.

Need Help With Your Research?

Student Consultation Request
Students can request a one on one consultation for in depth research assistance.

Using ILLiad to Get Materials from Other Libraries

Requests to borrow books and articles from other libraries will not be processed over the holiday break. All requests submitted through the ILLiad portal during the break will be filled starting Thursday, January 2^nd.

Loan request processing will be paused from Dec. 6, 2024 – Jan. 2, 2025

Article request processing will be paused from Dec. 13, 2024 – Jan. 2, 2025.

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a retrieval service in which the Library will borrow articles, books, etc. not owned or licensed by WilmU from other libraries. Watch this brief video to learn more about our Interlibrary Loan system called ILLiad.

Interlibrary Loan Video Transcript
This transcript includes times (0:00) to coordinate with the video and added [descriptive] content to aid users with limited vision. 11/2021

Check out our other services to get the items you need!

AFM 6650 Family Resource Management: Find Articles