DSocSci - Prevention Science: PSC 7201

Are you struggling to get to grips with qualitative data analysis? Do you need help getting started using ATLAS.ti? Do you find software manuals difficult to relate to? Written by a leading expert on ATLAS.ti, this book will guide you step-by-step through using the software to support your research project. In this updated second edition, you will find clear, practical advice on preparing your data, setting up a new project in ATLAS.ti, developing a coding system, asking questions, finding answers and preparing your results.  The new edition features: methodological as well as technical advice numerous practical exercises and examples screenshots showing you each stage of analysis in version 7 of ATLAS.ti  increased coverage of transcription new sections on analysing video and multimedia data a companion website with online tutorials and data sets.   Susanne Friese teaches qualitative methods at the University of Hanover and at various PhD schools, provides training and consultancy for ATLAS.ti at the intersection between developers and users.

Focusing on the integral role of the researcher, Qualitative Research for the Social Sciences uses a conversational writing style that draws readers into the excitement of the research process. Lichtman offers a balanced and nuanced approach, covering the full range of qualitative methodologies and viewpoints about the field, including coverage of social media as a tool to facilitate research or as a venue for study. After presenting theoretical concepts and a historical overview, Lichtman guides readers, step by step, through the research process, addressing issues of analyzing data, presenting completed research, and evaluating research. Real-world examples from across the social sciences provide both practical and theoretical information, helping readers understand abstract ideas and apply them to their own research.

Fresh, insightful and clear, this exciting textbook provides an engaging introduction to the application of qualitative methodology in the real world. Expert researchers then trace the history and philosophical underpinnings of different methodologies, explore the specific demands each places upon the researcher and robustly set out relevant issues surrounding quality and rigor. Featured methodologies include action research, discourse analysis, ethnography, grounded theory, case studies and narrative inquiry. This practical book provides a helpful guide to the research process - it introduces the relevant methods of generating, collecting and analysing data for each discrete methodology and then looks at best practice for presenting findings. This enables new researchers to compare qualitative methods and to confidently select the approach most appropriate for their own research projects. Key features include: " Summary table for each chapter - allowing quick checks to test knowledge " 'Window into' sections - real world examples showing each methodology in action " Student activities " Learning objectives " Full glossary " Annotated suggestions for further reading " Links to downloadable SAGE articles " Links to relevant websites and organizations This is an invaluable resource for students and researchers across the social sciences and a must-have guide for those embarking on a research project.

This third book in the Prevention Practice Kit introduces the topics of social justice and cultural relevance in prevention practice-and increasingly important trend in the 21st century. Covering a wide range of research in this field, the authors skillfully help the readers understand, design, and implement social justice-driven, culturally relevant prevention efforts.The book presents concrete examples of programs that attempt to address issues of social injustice and cultural relevance. These examples are based on the authors' real world experiences engaging in culturally responsive prevention guided by a social justice agenda. The reader will have opportunities for conversation about some of the more challenging aspects of infusing social justice and cultural relevance into one's prevention efforts, and includes a series of learning exercises to promote these conversations.This book is part of the Prevention Practice Kit: Action Guides for Mental Health, a collection of eight books each authored by scholars in the specific field of prevention and edited by Dr. Robert K. Conyne and Dr. Arthur M. Horne. The books in the collection conform to the editors' outline to promote a consistent reading experience. Designed to provide human services practitioners, counselors, psychologists, social workers, instructors, and students with concrete direction for spreading and improving the practice of prevention, the series provides thorough coverage of prevention application including a general overview of prevention, best practices, diversity and cultural relevance, psychoeducational groups, consultation, program development and evaluation, evidence base, and public policy.This book is endorsed by the Prevention Section of the Society of Counseling Psychology of the American Psychological Association. Fifty percent of all royalties are donated to Division 17 of the APA.