The fifth edition of this topflight text on nurse practitioner role development is completely updated and expanded to encompass the full sphere of current practice roles. These include inter professional, global health, and leadership roles and such practice issues as credentialing, prescriptive authority, and liabilities.
2011 AJN Book of the Year Winner in Advanced Practice Nursing "This is a unique book that will be valuable to both graduate students and professional advanced practice nurses. Since the role of the DNP graduate is evolving, this is an important contribution to the field. It focuses on the developing discussion of practice and graduate degrees in the field of nursing and provides up-to-date information about the evolving and expanding roles of DNP graduate nurses." Score: 100, 5 Stars.--Doody's Medical Reviews (2013)
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Second Edition was developed as an essential resource for advance practice students in master's and doctoral programs. This text is appropriate for students needing an introductory understanding of philosophy and how a theory is constructed as well as students and nurses who understand theory at an advanced level. The Second Edition discusses the AACN DNP essentials which is critical for DNP students as well as PhD students who need a better understanding of the DNP-educated nurse's role. Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Second Edition covers a wide variety of theories in addition to nursing theories.
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Second Edition was developed as an essential resource for advance practice students in master?s and doctoral programs. This text is appropriate for students needing an introductory understanding of philosophy and how a theory is constructed as well as students and nurses who understand theory at an advanced level.
While many books exist on project management in health care, most are written from the perspective of a hospital's upper leadership. This is the first resource to encompass the specific knowledge base and skills required for graduate-level nurses and students to effectively perform the duties of a project manager. Based on proven project management principles, the text defines concepts specifically for APNs and APNs with a DNP degree, and enables them to apply processes used in the business operations side of a health care organization. The book describes the fundamentals of project design step by step, from needs assessment through project closing. It provides detailed examples of tools used by project managers, describes how to apply these tools in the management of a complex health care work environment, and identifies key concepts critical to project success.
This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings. With contributions from expert scholars and clinicians in the humanities, natural and social sciences, organizational studies, business, nursing, and other health care sciences, this inspirational text fulfills the DNP core competencies as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of DNP Education.
This collection provides access to a growing selection of over 140,000 titles from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas, along with powerful research tools including dedicated iOS and Android apps.
Users can view ebooks within a browser window or create a free eBook Central account to download one chapter (or page range) at a time. Click on Sign In and Create an Account to download chapters on most computers and devices, including Kindle, without additional software. Depending on the title's license, there may be an option to download entire document for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format. To access this encrypted file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions, available free online. Downloading the entire document is accessible on most computers and devices, but not Kindle.
The EBSCO eBooks Open Access Monograph Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers such as University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press to provide access to a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a reference e-book collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research from academic publishers including Gale, Macmillan, St. James Press, Scribner and UXL.
Mobile access - Download the free AccessMyLibrary mobile app from Gale For Android™, For iPhone®, iPod Touch®, and iPad®. After a simple, one-time log-in using your library's password (new_log), the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to your library's reputable, authoritative Gale online resources — anytime, anywhere. More information at: https://support.gale.com/aml
The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections. As a web-based ePlatform, the R2 Digital Library offers seamless eBook access on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders.
Project MUSE has been a trusted provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community since 1995. The MUSE platform offers content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments. Subjects include the humanities, social sciences, the arts, philosophy, and religion.