Subject/Research Guides: Resources for Data Analysis: Open Data Sets by Topic

Agriculture Statistics

USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
USDA's National Agricultural Census, Recent
The USDA's Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States. 2007 to current.
USDA's Census of Agriculture Historical Archive
Public archive of Census of Agriculture publications published every 5 years 1920-2006 in PDF format and every 10 years from 1840.

Criminal Justice Data

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.
FBI's Crime Data Explorer
"The FBI’s Crime Data Explorer (CDE) is the digital front door for UCR data. The interactive online tool enables law enforcement and the general public to more easily use and understand the massive amounts of UCR data currently collected.
more...less...
"With it, users can view charts and graphs that break down data in a variety of ways. As the CDE expands to provide greater access to crime trends, bulk datasets, and agency-level data, the UCR Program plans to increase the frequency of data releases with the tool."--From the UCR Website
Bureau of Justice Statistics' (BJS) National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
The NCVS is the nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 135,000 households, composed of nearly 225,000 persons, on the frequency, characteristics, and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States." --From Website
Federal Bureau of Prisons Statistics
Data on inmate population, inmate demographics, sentences, types of offenses and staff demographics.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data (SAMHSA)
The SAMHSA is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides data on Alcohol Misuse, Cocaine, Tobacco, Marijuana, etc.
U.S. Drug Enforcement Data and Statistics
National statistics on arrests and seizures, links to national studies and publications, and state fact sheets.
CDC Opioid Overdose Data
CDC information on Opioid Overdoses in the United States. Includes Data on the drop down menu on the left.
U.S. Courts Statistics and Reports
"This section of uscourts.gov provides statistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts." -- From Website
U.S. Sentencing Commission: Interactive Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics (USSC)
This annual statistical report is published by the U.S. Sentencing Commission and provides descriptive figures, tables, and charts, and selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Data (SAMHSA)
The SAMHSA is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides data on Alcohol Misuse, Cocaine, Tobacco, Marijuana, etc.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Law Enforcement
"Law enforcement describes the individuals and agencies responsible for enforcing laws and maintaining public order and public safety. Law enforcement includes the prevention, detection, and investigation of crime, and the apprehension and detention of individuals suspected of law violation." -- From Website
more...less...
Includes information on local police, sheriffs' offices, federal law enforcement, tribal law enforcement, campus law enforcement, law enforcement training academies, forensic investigation, police-public contacts, use of force, arrest-related deaths, community policing. (See drop down menu on the left side)
Big, Allied and Dangerous (BAAD)
"The BAAD online platform features updated, vetted and sourced narratives, and relationship information and social network data on 50 of the most notorious terrorist organizations in the world since 1998, with additional network information on more than 100 organizations."
more...less...
"Funded through the Department of Homeland Security’s Science and Technology Directorate’s Office of University Programs, the underlying BAAD database was created and is maintained by the Project on Violent Conflict at the University at Albany’s Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy."--From Website
U.S. Dept. of State: Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism
"The Bureau of Counterterrorism and Countering Violent Extremism’s mission is to promote U.S. national security by taking a leading role in developing coordinated strategies and approaches to defeat terrorism abroad and securing the counterterrorism cooperation of international partners." -- From Website
Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC)
"TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror"
more...less...
This includes including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror. It also organizes and streamlines access to extant research and administrative data from across the world that are relevant to the study of terrorism and the response to terrorism for descriptive and scientific analysis by academics and researchers."
"TPDRC is jointly managed by researchers from the University of Maryland's National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START, a Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence), Michigan State University's School of Criminal Justice, and the University of Michigan's National Archive of Criminal Justice Data." -- From Website
World Prison Brief Data (WPB)
"WPB is a unique database that provides free access to information about prison systems throughout the world. Country information is updated on a monthly basis, using data largely derived from governmental or other official sources."
more...less...
"Each country page gives information on:
- total prison populations, and prison population rates per 100,000 of the national population
- the use of imprisonment for women, juveniles and foreign nationals
- the extent of pre-trial/remand imprisonment
- prison overcrowding, as indicated by occupancy levels
- news and official reports on prison conditions
- details of local organisations and other resources
- department or ministry responsible for prisons, with contact information" -- From Website
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
"UNODC research constitutes the key global authority in the fields of drugs and crime, providing high-quality, essential evidence to inform policy-making and valuable sources of knowledge in drugs and crime domains, including in the framework of the Sustainable Development Agenda." -- From Website
more...less...
Includes World Drug Report, Global Study on Homicide, Crime and Criminal Justice information, etc.

Education Data

Childstats.gov
Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."
KidsCount Data Center
Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.
NAEP State Profiles
State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.
Nation's Report Card
The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
National Center for Education Statistics
Collects, analyzes and makes available data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre
Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

Selected Data Set Resources

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Cross-National Time Series Data Archive
Provides annual data covering over 200 countries and 196 variables including measurements for civil unrest, voting, political parties, media, trade, and regime characteristics. Coverage from 1815-present. The library does not currently have a license for this data set. Please inform your Program Chair about your interest. Also, please contact Library Director if you would like to set up a trial. james.m.mccloskey@wilmu.edu
Sports Market Analytics (SMA)
Sports Market Analytics database focuses on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. Its mission is to provide a continuously updated resource featuring market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
CDC Data and Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) data on health-related issues like: alcohol use, arthritis, birth defects, cancer, chronic diseases, diabetes, foodborne illness, immunizations, obesity, and STD’s.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Published annually by the federal government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.

Demographic - Social Statistics

2010 Census Downloadable Files
2010 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings.
American Religion Data Archive (ARDA)
Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
Census - Explore Census Data tool
Provides access to detailed tables and maps for population, housing, and businesses.
Child Welfare
These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS)
Historical, current and projected socioeconomic data for the United States, regions, and counties. Find info on population by age and race, employment by industry, earnings of employees by industry, personal income by source, households by income bracket and retail sales by kind of business. (1970-2050).
Current Population Survey (CPS)
Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
Data.gov
Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Fedstats
Provide access to official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Covers over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.

Disability Statistics
Major statistical data sources on disability from Cornell University.
DoD Personnel and Military Casualty Statistics
Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
Enron e-mail corpus (EDRM)
Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.
U.S. Data and Statistics - USA.gov
The purpose of this site is to provide easy access to the public to statistical information produced by over 70 federal government agencies. You can query by keyword, browse a topical alphabetical index, and limit your search to a particular agency. There is also a page on regional statistics which organizes links by category, such as agriculture, crime, education, health and labor.
General Social Survey (GSS)
A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
more...less...
NORC at the University of Chicago
United Nation Human Development Report (UNDP)
Annual reports including data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.
Data Center, Kids Count
State level (limited county level).
Hundreds of measures of child well-being, by state or across states.
Links to World Statistics
Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
Mexican Migration Project (MMP)
MMP gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.
Minnesota Population Center (IPUMS)
Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.
more...less...
IPUMS originally stood for Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, but since 2016 it is no longer an acromyn.
National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)
The NCCP is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
National Centre for Social Research
Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
National Survey of Families and Households (NSFH)
The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life including: histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment.
Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS)
U.S. Homeland Security site. Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Oxford Poverty & Human Development Initiative
Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
PovcalNet
PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.
more...less...
You may need to click 'OK' to close dialog boxes to gain access.
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.
World Bank Group Data
Open access to databases and datasets, including World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).
World Development Report
Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.

Economic & Financial Data

AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database
Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
CBOE Volatility Index® (VIX®)
Current and historical data for the VIX, a barometer for measuring investor sentiment and market volatility.
EconData
Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media. Managed by the University of Maryland.
Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union
European Union Statistics (not the United Kingdom as of Feb. 1, 2020)
FDIC Data & Statistics
Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data
Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data
In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Contains useful economic datasets for download
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics
Statistics for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
U. S. Department of Energy Recovery Act Recipients
Information on how Recovery funds are/were spent by recipients of contracts, grants, and loans, and the distributionn of Recovery entitlements and tax benefits under the Recovery Act.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
The Foreign Assistance Dashboard
USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Futures and options markets data
U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)
Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world.
World Investment Report (UNCTAD)
World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment
globalEDGE DIBS
A Database of International Business Statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access data sets).

Resources for Data Analysis: Open Data Sets by Topic

Open Web - Advanced Search Tips

Agriculture Statistics

Criminal Justice Data

Education Data

Selected Data Set Resources

Demographic - Social Statistics

Economic & Financial Data