Fifty Key Video Games by Bernard Perron; Kelly Boudreau; Mark J. P. Wolf; Dominic ArsenaultThis volume examines fifty of the most important video games that have contributed significantly to the history, development, or culture of the medium, providing an overview of video games from their beginning to the present day. This volume covers a variety of historical periods and platforms, genres, commercial impact, artistic choices, contexts of play, typical and atypical representations, uses of games for specific purposes, uses of materials or techniques, specific subcultures, repurposing, transgressive aesthetics, interfaces, moral or ethical impact, and more. Key video games featured include Animal Crossing, Call of Duty, Grand Theft Auto, The Legend of Zelda, Minecraft, PONG, Super Mario Bros., Tetris, and World of Warcraft. Each game is closely analyzed in order to properly contextualize it, to emphasize its prominent features, to show how it creates a unique experience of gameplay, and to outline the ways it might speak about society and culture. The book also acts as a highly accessible showcase to a range of disciplinary perspectives that are found and practiced in the field of game studies. With each entry supplemented by references and suggestions for further reading, Fifty Key Video Games is an indispensable reference for anyone interested in video games.
Publication Date: 2022-09-01
The Professionalisation of Women's Sport by Ali Bowes (Editor); Alex Culvin (Editor)As women's sport continues to grow and develop there is an increasing need to critically examine the conditions in which women as athletes operate. The Professionalisation of Women's Sportdiscusses the processes of professionalisation in women's sports as distinct from, and different to, that seen in men's sport, identifying different challenges that face the growth of women's elite sport. Within this collection, the complex and often fragmented nature of women's involvement across a range of sports are critically discussed. Contributions span the fields of sport sociology, sport history, sport economics and beyond, and across the varying geographical contexts of North America, Europe, Australia and South Africa. Examining American football, basketball, cricket, cycling, golf, ice hockey, tennis, rugby union and rugby league, scholars consider the emergence of professionalisation, the role of the media, and experiences in and of women's (semi-)professional sport. The Professionalisation of Women's Sportis an essential reference point for any student, researcher or professional interested in, or working in, elite women's sport settings.
Publication Date: 2021-09-20
Marketing Analysis in Sport Business by Kevin K. Byon (Editor); Brian H. Yim (Editor); James J. Zhang (Editor)Commissioned by the WASM Executive Board, representing this organization's leadership and commitment to developing, summarizing, synthesizing, and analyzing knowledge that help enhance the global sport industry. Covers a range of critical analytical issues of marketing analyses in diverse national and cultural contexts of sport business operations. Chapters are contributed by 43 scholars from 15 countries, addressing various cross-cultural or comparative topics in the sport industry. Combines scholarly output derived from diverse inquiry protocols, such as review of literature, documentary analysis, qualitative research, and quantitative investigations. Signifies the continued commitment of WASM and Taylor & Francis to promoting global sport management studies and advancing the sport industry worldwide.
Publication Date: 2022-07-15
Slide Show by Life Magazine Editors; Sports Illustrated EditorsIf every picture tells a story, every slide tells an even deeper one. Tucked away in Sports Illustrated's photo archive sits 50 years worth of film, a frame-by-frame depiction of the history of sports over the last half a century. The stickers and scribbles along a single slide's border are like tags on a streamer trunk, telling the story of that photo's journey from the playing field to the magazine. This book selects the most colorful of these slides and presents the mounts as objects of art in an oversized 176-page collection, complete with behind-the-scenes vignettes of how the shots came to be. Some slides capture classic SI cover images (Dwight Clark's catch in the 1982 NFC Championship Game or Brandi Chastain ripping her shirt off at the 1999 World Cup) while others are simply great photos (Pete Rose running at full speed or Joe Namath lounging poolside before Super Bowl III). The images themselves are iconic, but by seeing them as slides you get that extra step back. You can see the history that has been made from these flashes of an instant.
Publication Date: 2009-05-05
Simply Tai Chi by Graham Bryant; Lorraine JamesTai Chi is an ancient meditative form of exercise that began in China as a martial art. It has developed over the centuries and today it is practised by millions of people around the world to improve and maintain their health. It is easily recognised by its graceful and captivating movements. With a detailed introduction to the movements that make up the traditional form and more than 100 full-colour photographs, Simply Tai Chi guides beginners step-by-step through the routine. Tai Chi is more than just an exercise -- it represents a way of life. It will help you improve your physical fitness and gain more energy whilst remaining calm and relaxed inside. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Advertising Age Yearbook, 1982 by Robert Parry
Publication Date: 1982-04-01
The Ethnographic Interview by James P. SpradleyThe Ethnographic Interview is a practical, self-teaching handbook which guides students step by step through interview techniques commonly used to research ethnography and culture. The text also teaches students how to analyze the data they collect, and how to write an ethnography. The appendices include research questions and writing tasks.
Publication Date: 1979-04-03
The Game Is Not a Game by Robert Scoop JacksonPart play-by-play, part op-ed,The Game Is Not a Game is an illuminating and unflinching examination of the good and evil in the sports industry. Liberating and provocative, with sharp wit and generous humor, Jackson's essays explore the role that sports plays in American society and the hypocritical standards by which the athletes are often judged. The Game Is Not a Game is distinctly intended to challenge accepted ideology and to push the boundaries of mainstream sports media beyond the comfort zone. Chapters expose "Our Miseducation of LeBron James," "#ThemToo: The UnRespected Worth of the Woman Athlete," the duplicity of the NFL in its treatment of Colin Kaepernick and the anthem protests, the cultural bias of analytics, and the power of social activism versus the power and politics of professional sports ownership--all from the sharp, savvy, and self-critical perspective of one of the leading voices for social justice in sports media.
Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Hosting the Olympic Games by Marie. Delaplace (Editor); Pierre-Olaf Schut (Editor)Hosting the Olympic Games: Uncertainty, Debates and Controversyprovides a broad and comprehensive analysis of past Olympic and Paralympic events, shedding critical light on the future of the Games with a specific look at the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympics. It draws attention to the debates and paradox that hosting the Games presents for the contemporary city. Employing a range of interdisciplinary theoretical and methodological approaches, individual chapters highlight the various controversies of the Games throughout the bidding process, the event itself and its aftermath. Social Science-based chapters place strong emphasis on the vital importance of sustainable strategy for contemporary host cities. Along with environmental concerns whether atmospheric, microbiological or otherwise, many other requirements, costs and risks involving security and public expenditure among others are explored throughout the book. Including a variety of international and comparative case studies from a range of contributing academics, this will be essential reading for students and researchers in the field of Event studies as well as various disciplines including Tourism, Heritage studies and Urban and Environmental studies.
Publication Date: 2019-08-19
Same Players, Different Game by John C. Barnes2020 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Finalist for Adventure, Sports & Recreation In this thought-provoking new book, John C. Barnes examines the contemporary state of commercial college athletics as a guide for current and potential administrators, coaches, regents, and others involved in collegiate athletic operations and decision-making. Each chapter provides an overview of an industry shaped by such current realities as Title IX requirements, commercial investments, student testing, and television contracts. Barnes provides an accessible outline of the historical background and potential future of the commercial college athletics industry from a nonjudgmental perspective. Same Players, Different Game not only serves as a text and guide for governance and leadership but also as a primer for the economic and political realities of modern college athletics that students and sports fans will find fascinating.
Publication Date: 2020-03-01
On Fire by Naomi Klein
Publication Date: 2019-09-17
Sports in Society by Jay Coakley
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
Fair and Foul by D. Stanley Eitzen
Publication Date: 2012-02-09
This Green and Growing Land by Kevin C. Armitage
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Delicious Geography by T. M. Reddekopp; Gary Fuller
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Big-Time Sports in American Universities by Charles T. Clotfelter
Publication Date: 2019-02-21
Environmental Science and Technology by Frank R. Spellman
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
Auto Racing in the Shadow of the Great War by Robert Dick
Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Kicking Center by Rachel Allison
Publication Date: 2018-08-30
Women's Sports by Jaime Schultz
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
The League by John Eisenberg
Publication Date: 2018-10-09
The Gamer's Brain by Celia Hodent
Publication Date: 2017-08-14
Computer Game Worlds by Claus Pias; Valentine A. Pakis (Translator)
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Contemporary Sport Management-5th Edition with Web Study Guide by Paul Pedersen (Editor); Lucie Thibault (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Interactive Stories and Video Game Art by Chris Solarski
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Atari Age by Michael Z. Newman
Publication Date: 2017-02-10
Bike Boom by Carlton Reid
Publication Date: 2017-06-15
The Chesapeake in Focus by Tom Pelton
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Game Changer by Rayvon Fouché
Publication Date: 2017-06-02
Natural Hazards, Second Edition by Burrell E. Montz; Graham A. Tobin; Ronald R. Hagelman
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
Soccernomics (2018 World Cup Edition) by Simon Kuper; Stefan Szymanski
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
A History of the U. S. Men's National Soccer Team by Clemente A. Lisi
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Tales of the Field by John Van Maanen
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
New Perspectives on the Social Aspects of Digital Gaming by Thorsten Quandt (Editor); Rachel Kowert (Editor)