Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Discovery How To Guide

Article Search - Limiting your search to articles

By default, Discovery returns a variety of formats--books, articles, videos, etc. If you are only interested in articles, try the following:

1. Search for your topic.

2. From your search results page, check off Article on the left-hand side. You can also check off the Peer-reviewed box to return peer-reviewed articles only.

3. Click on View full text to view the article.

Getting the full text of the article

On your search results page, you will generally see one of two options for an article:

1. View full text link: Clicking on the View full text link takes you directly to the full text.

2. If a View full text link is not available, click into the record by clicking on the title to find more options for getting the full text.

Once you are in the record, you may see additional database links you can try. Also, you will have the option to request the full text by clicking on Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan. You may also place a hold to borrow items from most of the libraries participating in the Delaware Library Catalog. More details on this process can be found here. Additional details on using Interlibrary Loan can be found here.

When should I use a specific database instead of Discovery?

Use an article database (PsycINFO, Academic Search Premier, CINAHL, etc.) when...

1. You would like to be able to use special features and search options specific to that database interface.

2. If you would like to use specialized vocabulary specific to a database.

3. If you have established that many of the databases in your topic area are not included in Discovery. For example, some of our specialized business databases such as Mergent Intellect are not included in Discovery.

To access our complete list of article databases, visit the A to Z Database list OR check out our research guides to see databases by subject.

What if I already have an article citation and just need to find the full text?

If you are looking for a specific article, you have two options. You can put the article title in quotation marks within the Discovery search box.

Example: "End-of-Life Care: nursing leadership remains critical"

-OR-

You can search for an exact citation by using the Library Journal Locator as seen below. Enter in as much information as you can to link to the full text version.