Subject/Research Guides: Presentation Tools, Tips and Techniques: Images

Find Images Online

Free public sources for photographs. Some sites have a mix of free and fee, be sure to check restrictions (if any) when using. When using media, please keep in mind Copyright and Fair Use issues (provided by MIT Libraries).

Creative Commons Image Search
Wikimedia Commons a vast collection freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Search Bing for images Use Bing to search images. Search by keywords and then use drop down menu "license" and choose "free to share and use".
Google Image Search Google has always been a great way to find images. Results are thumbnails of the images, allowing you to sort through them quickly. Use the limits on your result list to get better results. Change usage rights to "free to use and share"
PixaBay Searchable and browsable public domain images made available by users across the globe
Free Photo Bank
Pexels Large collection of free to use and edit photographs (attribution not required)
Flickr.com The Commons Copyright is predetermined by those who post the images.
IM Free A curated collection of free resources, organized by categories
Dreamstime.com
Everystockphoto.com
Free Clip Art & Images Archive of royalty-free vector clipart in the public domain
FreeFoto.com
Google Art Project Fabulous collection of the great art of the world.
Google Life Photo Archive
LOC: America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1839-1862
LOC: American Memory
LOC: FSA-OWI Great Depression to WWII Photographs
LOC: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog From the Library of Congress (LOC). Access the LOC's incredible collection of historical online photographs, mainly from the American Memory Collection. A wide variety of topics are covered, such as America from the Great Depression to World War II, Civil War, Daguerreotype Portraits and The South Texas Border, 1900-1920.
LOC: Selected Civil War Photographs
Morgue File

Free Online Image Editors

BeFunky
Pixlr
Online Image Editor
ResizeImage.net - Image editor and file resizer
Optimizilla
Easy to use photo resizer

Clip Art versus Real Images

Which looks better to you? I think most will agree the real photograph. There are a wide variety of free online images to choose from so using clip art can seem outdated and unprofessional. Look on this page to find a list of websites and search engines to help you find free images online.

Finding Images Using Google Advanced Image Search

You can use Google's Advanced Image Search to locate images. Use the text fields and drop down menus to customize your search.

http://www.google.com/advanced_image_search