Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eBooks on the Web
These links are available to the general public without a Wilmington University login.
Access freely available eBooks using the links below:
Free eBooks by Project Gutenberg
No registration or account necessary for unlimited free eBook downloads.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide."
This site requires free registration and access is limited to 5 PDFs and/or TXTs, or eBook downloads per month.
Read Print is an online community for users who enjoy books and reading. Members can utilize an array of services that include features to rate and review books, stories, and poems, create an online bookshelf, read books online as well as search for and create groups and lists of books, among other features.
Find textbooks that are not only free to learners, but open to editing by anyone.
What are eBooks?
eBooks are digital versions of printed books from a broad range of subject areas and topics. eBooks can be viewed online and portions of the book may be printed.
The Wilmington University Library provides online access to over 8,500 eBooks!
Individual eBook Collections
Ebook Central Academic Complete eBooks This collection provides access to a growing selection of over 140,000 titles from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas, along with powerful research tools including dedicated iOS and Android apps.
Users can view ebooks within a browser window or create a free eBook Central account to download one chapter (or page range) at a time. Click on Sign In and Create an Account to download chapters on most computers and devices, including Kindle, without additional software. Depending on the title's license, there may be an option to download entire document for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format. To access this encrypted file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions, available free online. Downloading the entire document is accessible on most computers and devices, but not Kindle.
Ebsco eBooks Search for eBooks covering all subject areas and access full text books remotely.
eBook Open Access Collection (EBSCOhost) The EBSCO eBooks Open Access Monograph Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers such as University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press to provide access to a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands.
Nursing eBooks (R2 Digital Library) The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections. As a web-based ePlatform, the R2 Digital Library offers seamless eBook access on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders.