Subject/Research Guides: CUL 411 Food: Art and Custom: International: Streaming Videos

Streaming Video Resources

Choose a video collection below:

Academic Video Online (from Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Please use the latest version of Firefox or Google Chrome for Digital Campus access.
Digital Campus, provided by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® was created for professors and administrators to enhance curriculum by providing students with access to course-related films. Through Digital Campus, students can conveniently view assigned films, freeing up valuable class time and eliminating the time constraints of sharing copies.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It consists of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available.
Sage Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video streaming collections are developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners to deliver cutting-edge teaching and research-oriented video within the social sciences.

Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series
Provides access to videos from the Harvard Business School 'Faculty Seminar Series'. Topics include organizational learning, leadership, business strategies, marketing, and management. **Follow the instructions from this link to locate videos from this collection.**
Opposing Viewpoints - Video Collection
Provides news and television clips in a variety of controversial and popular subject areas.
**Use the "Search Within" box on the right to locate videos on your subject.**
Global Issues - Video Collection
Browse news and television clips, from around the world, in a variety of popular subject areas.
**Use the "Search Within" box on the right to locate videos on your subject.**

Open Source Streaming Video

Academic Earth
This website contains video lectures from leading scholars in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, English,entrepreneurship, history, law, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology and religion.
SnagFilms
Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films library includes more than 850 films. Filmmakers and distributors submit titles to SnagFilms for curatorial review. Videos stream in Flash. The site organizes titles by broad Topics (such as Arts, Environment, Health, History, Women's Issues, etc.) and by Channels (including well-established film companies such as Alive Mind, Icarus, Fanlight, PBS, and National Geographic). The SnagFilms website encourages donating to causes by linking each film to a specific charity. Brief commercials precede and are interspersed through the video playback.
HippoCampus
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE), HippoCampus provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students. Content is organized by broad disciplines: Algebra, American Government, Biology, Calculus, Environmental Science, Physics, Psychology, Religion, Statistics, US History. The site was designed as part of Open Education Resources (OER), a worldwide effort to improve access to quality education. Colleges and universities develop the content and contributes it to the National Repository of Online Courses (NROC), another MITE project. Both HippoCampus and NROC are supported by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Top Documentary Films
This site is organized by a private individual. TDF offers full watchable documentaries and information on documentaries by quoting reviews from trusted Documentaries are classified in categories and you can easily find what you are looking for.

Streaming Video Resources

Open Source Streaming Video

How Food Shapes Our Cities - TED