Subject/Research Guides: CUL 411 Food: Art and Custom: International: Find Articles

Databases by Title

Click on any database title to begin searching.

(You will be temporarily redirected to enter your myWilmU username and password.)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes the complete text of Opposing Viewpoints and other series, including Teen Decisions and At Issue. Use this database to find opinion essays and factual research information on current topics and social issues.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 592,000 photos, maps and flags.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window News & Newspapers is a single source for coverage of two of the nation's leading newspapers. The database includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for: New York Times (backfile to 1980) Wall Street Journal (backfile to 1984)
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers. SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Recommended Journal Titles

Food, Culture & Society
Journal of Popular Culture
History Today
Journal of Ethnic Foods The Journal of Ethnic Foods is dedicated to provide reliable information about people’s consumption of food, as well as the superiority or creativity developed from the long-term accumulated traditional understanding and knowledge in foods. The superiority and creativity of food cannot be fully understood and appreciated from food ingredients and nutrition. It has to be viewed also from other aspects, such as culture, ecology, history and environment. It is recommended to the authors to cover these areas in the manuscript.
Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment publishes position papers, discussions of theoretical developments and methods of inquiry, results of empirical research, and book and film reviews from any tradition of scholarship. Central to the mission of CAFE is work that explores and demonstrates the connections between the full array of cultural dimensions and the environment, ecology, agriculture, aquaculture, fisheries, natural resources, energy, water, food, and nutrition.

Search ALL Library Resources

Suggested Subject Terms

Food and culture

Manners and customs

Drinking customs

Food habits

Social customs

Traditions

Feasts

Cuisine

Cooking

Food- preparation

Food-history

Library Journal Locator

Library Journal Locator This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title. For example, enter in the title "Journal of Business & Economics." You will see all of the databases that have full text access to that title and links to these databases.