Founded in 1973, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare professionals about the causes, prevention, and treatment of infectious diseases across the lifespan.
Excellent site for public health and safety information. Includes fact sheets, information and CDC journal articles on diseases and chronic conditions, and statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics. The full text of several CDC publications, including "Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report" and "Emerging Infectious Diseases," is available.
The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) represents physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who specialize in infectious diseases. IDSA’s purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.
"AllNurses.com is the largest and most active online nursing community where you can join nurses from around the world discussing all things related to nursing. 500 nursing topics are discussed everyday! To gain full access to allnurses.com you must register for a free account."
Site produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.
Global disease alert map that "brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health... the data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location for user-friendly access to the original alert... provides a jumping-off point for real-time information on emerging infectious diseases and has particular interest for public health officials and international travelers."
This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”
As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. The Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
1100+ continuing education activities, free peer-reviewed journal articles, access to free eNewsletters in your areas of interest, search more than 100 nursing-specific web sites vetted by your colleagues, daily nursing news update, exclusive clinical and professional resources, NursingJobsPlus.com, virtual clinical expos and job fairs, patient education materials, drug news and updates, interaction with your nurse colleagues on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.
A free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”
This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
Very wide range of information from this U.N.-related body, with many user-customizable features. Note especially the Library, the Bulletin of the WHO, and the Data and Statistics sections, as well as the annual World Health Reports and World Health Statistics Reports. The WHO Statistical Information System is "the guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization." The Global InfoBase "collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states." The Media Centre provides the latest information. Disease Outbreak News offers the latest news and reports on communicable disease surveillance and response around the world. The International Travel and Health report "provides information on the main health risks for travelers." There is also a Tropical Diseases section.