Skip to main content

IST 7020 Analysis, Modeling, and Design: Discovery System

Search ALL Library Resources

What is Discovery?

WorldCat Discovery is the proprietary name for Wilmington University Library’s Discovery system. Discovery provides users with a single search box experience eliminating the need to search for resources in several other databases or different interfaces. One search provides instant access to the Library's full text scholarly materials, databases, eJournals, videos, eBooks, and more.

Learn more about Discovery…

How do I find full text, peer-reviewed articles on a particular subject?

You can search for peer-reviewed articles by entering in a search term in the search box.

Next, check off the Full Text, Article, and Peer-Reviewed boxes on the left side of the screen as seen below. Click on View full text to access the article.

 

What should I do if the View full text link doesn't work?

If you have any trouble connecting to a resource through the View full text link, try clicking into the article record by clicking on the article title. You may be presented with a list of additional database links to try. There is also the option to Request Item through Interlibrary Loan. Please report broken links or incorrect full text date ranges to the Library.

How do I use Discovery to locate a specific article or book by title?

You can use Discovery to find a specific item if you know the title. Type or copy and paste the title inside quotation marks into the Discovery search field. If you know the author's name, you can also add the name as additional keywords.

Discovery title search

How do I cite my sources in APA format using Discovery?

Click on the Cite button.

Select the option to copy the citation using APA 6th edition format or export the citation to RefWorks. IMPORTANT: See note in blue box about proofreading the citation format for errors.

 

How do I export sources in APA format into RefWorks?

Conduct a search in Discovery and click on Save for any resource in your result list. This will save your records to a temporary list. If you exit out of Discovery, your list of resources will be gone, so make sure to copy or export your citations. Next, click on My Items in the upper right corner to see your temporary list of saved items.

 Check off the items you would like to export to RefWorks and click on Cite. Make sure to select the citation style for APA 6th ed.

Select the New RefWorks if prompted and check off the box to remember New RefWorks for next time.

You may be prompted to log into RefWorks. After logging in, you should see the Import Complete message.

Where can I find the persistent link to a specific resource?

Click on the Link button to find the persistent link for any resource on your result list.

Copy the persistent link and paste in Canvas or anywhere you choose.

What resources are included in a WorldCat Discovery search?

The vast majority of library databases are included in a Discovery search including all EBSCOhost databases, in addition to databases from publishers such as Alexander Street Press, Gale, Ovid, ProQuest, Sage, Taylor & Francis, Elsevier/ScienceDirect, Wiley, and more. Discovery also offers links to open access materials as provided by HathiTrust, JSTOR, and more.

What resources are NOT included in a WorldCat Discovery search?

Discovery systems work to link data from many other systems to bring as many resources to the user as possible. By default, Discovery searches WorldCat.org, a growing catalog of millions of records from libraries across the globe including content from 100+ WilmU Library subscription databases. A few publishers and database vendors are still in the process of formatting their data so that it can be included in a Discovery search. Financial information databases including Mergent Intellect, Mergent Archives, Sports Market Analytics, along with Security Management Practices and a few Gale databases contain content that cannot be searched in Discovery. These databases should be accessed individually from the A-Z list.

Where in Discovery can I find the call number for a print book held by Wilmington University Library?

On your search results page, you will see print books and eBooks held by Wilmington University Library if you included both formats in your search. You can see whether the book is an eBook or print book by looking at the record.

1. You can see that eBooks are labeled as such as seen in the record below. View eBook links are displayed for Wilmington University-subscribed eBooks. Clicking on the View eBook link takes you directly to the eBook. Print books will display a shelf location such as Stacks RT89.5 .T62 2017. This is the location of the book on the shelf in the Library.

If Wilmington University Library does not own the book you need, you have the option to request the book by clicking on Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan.  Another option is to place a hold on items from participating libraries in the Delaware Library Catalog. More details on your Delaware Library Catalog account and this process can be found here. Additional details on using Interlibrary Loan can be found here.

Are multiple records for the same item in Discovery identical?

Are multiple records for the same item in Discovery identical?

Answer: No. Records that look alike may actually provide different options for accessing content.  If you click on a record, and do not see the option to get to the full text of the article, best practice is to always click on the other records available since the full text may appear from these records. Another option is to click on View all editions & formats. This will list all editions and formats that Wilmington University Library owns.

How do I save my searches?

The first step to save your search is to first run your desired search. Make sure to check off your selected format, content, date range, etc. After you are satisfied with the results, you can copy the URL from the browser window and save it to access the same search parameters at a later date. The following URL is an example of a persistent link to a search for the keywords “nursing ethics,” Full text, and published in the last 5 years.

https://wilmu.on.worldcat.org/search?sortKey=LIBRARY&databaseList=&queryString=nursing+ethics&changedFacet=year&scope=&content=fullText&format=all&database=all&author=all&year=2013..2018&yearFrom=&yearTo=&language=all&topic=all

WARNING: Search results will change from day to day as more records are added to Discovery.