Subject/Research Guides: VMG 311 The Early History of Film: Find eBooks

Narrow your search to just ebooks

Search millions of ebooks 24/7, from anywhere!

Use the search box to the right to search for ebooks. You can type in a title, subject, or author.
On the results page, the left side-bar will allow you to limit your search.
Check the box next to eBook on the results page.

Extra tip! Narrow your search further by entering in a date range to show more recent eBooks.

These links are available to the general public without a Wilmington University login.

Access freely available eBooks using the links below:

Free eBooks by Project Gutenberg
No registration or account necessary for unlimited free eBook downloads.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
"HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide."
Free-eBooks.net/
This site requires free registration and access is limited to 5 PDFs and/or TXTs, or eBook downloads per month.
Wikibooks
Find textbooks that are not only free to learners, but open to editing by anyone.

EverythingArticlesBooksVideoJournals

Ebook Central Academic Complete eBooks This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to a growing selection of over 140,000 titles from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas, along with powerful research tools including dedicated iOS and Android apps.
Users can view ebooks within a browser window or create a free eBook Central account to download one chapter (or page range) at a time. Click on Sign In and Create an Account to download chapters on most computers and devices, including Kindle, without additional software. Depending on the title's license, there may be an option to download entire document for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format. To access this encrypted file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions, available free online. Downloading the entire document is accessible on most computers and devices, but not Kindle.

Ebsco eBooks This link opens in a new window
The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
Search for eBooks covering all subject areas and access full text books remotely.
eBook Open Access Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The EBSCOhost User Interface will be upgraded to an all new user experience on January 7, 2025! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
The EBSCO eBooks Open Access Monograph Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers such as University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press to provide access to a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a reference e-book collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research from academic publishers including Gale, Macmillan, St. James Press, Scribner and UXL.

Nursing eBooks (R2 Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections. As a web-based ePlatform, the R2 Digital Library offers seamless eBook access on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders.

Professional and Applied Computing eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection includes eBooks on a variety of subjects in the field of computing. Some titles available are Taking Your Android Tablets to the Max, Learn HTML5 and JavaScript for iOS, Beginning iOS 3D Unreal Games Development, Beginning Windows Phone App Development, and many more!

Project MUSE Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE has been a trusted provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community since 1995. The MUSE platform offers content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments. Subjects include the humanities, social sciences, the arts, philosophy, and religion.