This guide provides an overview to different types of free materials, under the section Free Sources of Legal Materials, and also summarizes the features and costs of less expensive databases within the section of Low-Cost Legal Databases.
Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute (LII) provides primary sources, original content ranging from legal encyclopedias to tables of popular names as well as an introduction to legal citation and overviews of a variety of legal topics.
Lexology publishes in excess of 450 articles every day from over 900 leading law firms and service providers worldwide across 50 work areas in 25 languages. It has a searchable archive containing more than 900,000 articles.
This site provides a subject directory of legal topics of interest to social workers, including adoption, child custody, criminal law, divorce & separation, elder law & aging, family law, healthcare, and nursing home abuse.
A free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of The Bluebook's Uniform System of Citation compiled by a team of students at New York University School of Law under the direction of Professor Christopher Jon Sprigman.
From the introduction:
"The scope of The Indigo Book’s coverage is roughly equivalent to The Bluebook’s “Bluepages”—that is, The Indigo Book covers legal citation for U.S. legal materials, as well as books, periodicals, and Internet and other electronic resources. In addition, The Indigo Book offers citation guidance that is deeper than The Bluebook’s Bluepages—for example, The Indigo Book has citation guidance for bills, and for legislative history, that the Bluepages lack. For the materials that it covers, anyone using The Indigo Book will produce briefs, memoranda, law review articles, and other legal documents with citations that are compatible with the Uniform System of Citation."