Provides overview of the U.S. legal system, an extensive listing of links to law web sites--some free info, some for purchase, and a connection to LawCrawler, a search engine of law web sites. FindLaw LegalNews is a daily updated source of legal news. Links to online legal forms are also included.
The University of Michigan maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
IRAC (Issue, Rule, Analysis, and Conclusion) forms the fundamental building blocks of legal analysis. It is the process by which all lawyers think about any legal problem. The beauty of IRAC is that it allows you to reduce the complexities of the law to a simple equation.
"Web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over 30 part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA."
"A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices."
Free law gathered from several different sites, all in one place. Cases from the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals, cases from all 50 states back to 1997, federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
The Office of Disciplinary Counsel ("ODC") is an Arm of the Supreme Court of Delaware, which assists the Court in regulating the practice of law. In this capacity, the ODC is charged with evaluating, investigating, and, if warranted, prosecuting lawyer misconduct.
The Department of Elections was created as a seperate agency initially managed by the State Auditor until the first Commissioner of Elections could be appointed. In most states, the Secretary of State manages the State's elections and hires a Director of Elections. In Delaware the Commissioner of Elections is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. After confirmation, the Commissioner serves at the pleasure of the Governor. The Commissioner's Office is the lead agency for the Department of Elections which consists of the Commissioner's Office and a Department of Elections office located in each county.
Delaware Lawyers' Rules of Professional Conduct with Comments (effective January 1, 2020), Delaware Lawyers' Rules of Disciplinary Procedure (effective January 1, 2020), Principles of Professionalism for Delaware Lawyers, Rules of the Unauthorized Practice of Law Subcommittee of the Board on Professional Responsibility (effective January 1, 2020)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record. Also try our federated search engine MetaLib to retrieve reports, articles and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases. NEW: Please click here to view CGP records created based on the RDA (Resource Description and Access) cataloging standard. For more information, please see the He
The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets.
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include the features and content listed below. Bills, Resolutions Activity in Congress Congressional Record Schedules, Calendars Committee Information Presidential Nominations Treaties Government Resources For Teachers Help and Contact
Appropriations Archives Art in the Senate
Awards, Honors, and Medals
Calendars and Schedules
Civil War Senate
Frequently Asked Questions
House of Representatives
Laws and Regulations
Learning About the Senate
Oath of Office
"As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web." "Many people and organizations have had a hand in creating our comprehensive, award-winning portal to government. USA.gov is an interagency initiative administered by the Federal Citizen Information Center, a division of the U.S. General Services Administration's Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies. It got its start when Internet entrepreneur Eric Brewer, whose early research was funded by the Department of Defense, offered to donate a powerful search engine to government. That gift helped accelerate the government's earlier work to create a government-wide portal."
The professional society for those interested in international law. Excellent online information and publications, with a searchable database. The eResources section provides access to international law resources, from primary source documents to ASIL publications, for online research. Note especially the Electronic Information System for International Law, an excellent database with sophisticated search capabilities to find primary documents, recommended websites, and research guides in the principal areas of international law.
"Provides English translations of and other textual material related to constitutional documents. It cross-references those documents for quick comparison of constitutional provisions." The constitutions of most countries are in the database.
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
With 189 member countries, staff from more than 170 countries, and offices in over 130 locations, the World Bank Group is a unique global partnership: five institutions working for sustainable solutions that reduce poverty and build shared prosperity in developing countries.
This site provides a subject directory of legal topics of interest to social workers, including adoption, child custody, criminal law, divorce & separation, elder law & aging, family law, healthcare, and nursing home abuse.
The Law Review Commons brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years. All Law Review Commons publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories. The Commons includes many of the leading U.S. law reviews—such as the California Law Review and the Duke Law Journal.
"The LII is known internationally as a leading ‘law-not-com’ provider of public legal information. We offer all opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance, over a decade of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals, and the full United States Code. We also publish important secondary sources: libraries in two important areas (legal ethics and social security) and a series of ‘topical’ pages that serve as concise explanatory guides and Internet resource listings for roughly 100 areas of law."