The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
The University of Michigan maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
"CRS Reports do not become public until a member of Congress releases the report. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. Open CRS is a centralized utility that brings together these collections to search. Unfortunately, there is no systematic way to obtain all CRS reports. Because of this, not all reports appear on the Open CRS web site." [web site]
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. The website offers news briefs, policy briefs, papers, and more. Programs include: Economic Studies, Foreign Policy, Global Economy and Development, Governance Studies, Metropolitan Policy Program.
Short, fact-based reports on public opinion and public policy issues. Compiled by Public Agenda, a non-profit research orgnization. Provides regular coverage of 19 topics: abortion, alcohol abuse, America’s global role, crime, the economy, education, the environment, the family, the Federal budget, gambling, health care, illegal drugs, immigration, internet speech/privacy, Medicare, race, right to die, Social Security, and welfare.
"Initiated in 1993 ... he Policy Agendas Project developed a coding scheme utilizing 19 major topic and 225 subtopic codes. Codes are assigned based on policy content and are mutually exclusive and exhaustive. All activities are categorized, and each item (such as a congressional hearing) is assigned one and only one category...
The series include Congressional hearings, public laws, roll call votes, Congressional Quarterly coverage, Presidential State of the Union speeches, Executive Orders, Supreme Court cases, a sample of New York Times articles, and Gallup’s Most Important Problem public opinion series. In addition, the Project tabulates Congressional Budget Authority using the Office of Management and Budget’s categorization. We also work with the Congressional Bills Project to make available Congressional bills introduced, and with James Stimson to make available Policy Moods opinion data on an issue-by-issue basis. The total number of observations across all series is almost 260,000 (over 500,000 including Congressional bills)." [Website]
GovTrack.us, is a tool created by Civic Impulse, LLC. The site helps ordinary citizens find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record
--includes a fair amount of historical data, back to 1789, on legislation, legislators, and vote counts.
--See the notes on Information Coverage and Timeliness on the site's About page.