To access eBooks, click on the eBook image and if prompted, login using your myWilmU username and password.
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Action Research by Bridget Somekh (Editor); Susan E. NoffkeThis handbook presents and critiques predominant and emergent traditions of Educational Action Research internationally. Now a prominent methodology, Educational Action Research is well suited to exploring, developing and sustaining change processes both in classrooms and whole organisations such as schools, Departments of Education, and many segments of universities. The handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. It also contains chapters exemplifying the work of prominent practitioner and community groups working outside universities. The Editors provide an introduction and conclusion, as well as an opening chapter which charts the historical development of action research and provides an analysis of its underlying theories. The handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: - Action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices - Professional: Knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators - Personal: Self-awareness, development and identity - Political: Popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change This is a key resource for scholars and graduate students at doctors and masters levels, as well as school leaders and administrators. Susan Noffke is Associate Professor of Curriculum & Instruction at the University of Illinois - Urbana/Champaign and co-editor with R.B. Stevenson of Educational Action Research (Teachers College Press, 1995). She taught at the primary school level for a decade, and has led masters and doctoral level courses in action research for the past 20 years.
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by Bruce B. Frey (Editor)In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Key Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with Further Readings and cross-references to related entries. The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and cross-references combine to provide a robust search-and-browse in the electronic version.
Promoting Change Through Action Research by Franz Rauch (Editor); Angela Schuster (Editor); Thomas Stern (Editor); Maria Pribila (Editor); Andrew Townsend (Editor)"Bringing a different world into existence - Action Research as a trigger for innovations" was the overarching theme and vision of the international CARN Conference 2011 in Vienna. The chapters in this book are drawn mainly from conference contributions. The authors share practical knowledge which has arisen from their work, and reflect on development processes in schools, in teacher education and professional development, social work, social peda¬gogy, health care and community development. This book offers what some critics believe has been missing in recent action research literature, namely first person accounts of action researchers who endeavour to change working conditions and social relations in their environment through the conduct of action research. This book is also distinguished by assembling contributions from people who are linking action research to a broad diversity of differing contexts, and who are exploring topics or issues across various applications of action research.
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Student Voice, Teacher Action Research and Classroom Improvement by Lisa M. Bell; Jill M. AldridgeThe issue of teacher quality is increasingly seen as being central to education policy development and this emphasis highlights the role teacher professional development plays in improving teacher effectiveness and the quality of learning in the classroom.This book describes a large-scale research program which investigated the feasibility of using student perceptual measures as the basis for teacher development and classroom improvement. The book describes how teachers' use of the student feedback, as part of an action-research process, was used to guide improvements to their respective classrooms which in turn provided them with increased opportunities for teacher development and growth. In addition to this, it reports the efforts of one school which purposefully linked the involvement of their teachers to their school improvement initiatives. This book would be of interest to a range of audiences including researchers, teachers and school leaders. Its attractions include its far-reaching implications for educational systems concerning the ways in which student feedback can be used to facilitate teacher development and growth. The book also reports the use of a multi-method research design in which quantitative and qualitative methods were successfully employed simultaneously within two concurrent and interrelated investigations.
This collection provides access to a growing selection of over 140,000 titles from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas, along with powerful research tools including dedicated iOS and Android apps.
Users can view ebooks within a browser window or create a free eBook Central account to download one chapter (or page range) at a time. Click on Sign In and Create an Account to download chapters on most computers and devices, including Kindle, without additional software. Depending on the title's license, there may be an option to download entire document for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format. To access this encrypted file, you will need Adobe Digital Editions, available free online. Downloading the entire document is accessible on most computers and devices, but not Kindle.
The EBSCO eBooks Open Access Monograph Collection was created in collaboration with university presses and scholarly OA publishers such as University of Michigan Press, Taylor & Francis and Temple University Press to provide access to a large selection of discoverable content, which will continue to grow by the thousands.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a reference e-book collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research from academic publishers including Gale, Macmillan, St. James Press, Scribner and UXL.
Mobile access - Download the free AccessMyLibrary mobile app from Gale For Android™, For iPhone®, iPod Touch®, and iPad®. After a simple, one-time log-in using your library's password (new_log), the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to your library's reputable, authoritative Gale online resources — anytime, anywhere. More information at: https://support.gale.com/aml
The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections. As a web-based ePlatform, the R2 Digital Library offers seamless eBook access on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders.
Project MUSE has been a trusted provider of humanities and social science content for the scholarly community since 1995. The MUSE platform offers content from over 200 not-for-profit publishers including many of the world's most distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, independent publishers, and academic departments. Subjects include the humanities, social sciences, the arts, philosophy, and religion.
Suggested Books from the Catalog
Action Research by Geoffrey E. MillsNote: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0133387445. Born of the author''s own experience working with teachers and principals, Action Research, 5/e, provides a research-based step-by-step outline of how to do action research. The author guides teachers and administrators through the action research process via numerous concrete illustrations; positioning it as a fundamental component of teaching. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video. From reviews of the book: "Mills'' writing style is informative, direct, and personalized and his expertise as a researcher is evident throughout the textbook. He fully understands the uniqueness of teacher-centered research. . . . The language and the illustration cater to the classroom research contexts and it is easy to understand and apply." --Adel Al-Bataineh, Illinois State University "The book emphasizes the importance of reflection and creating an action plan. . . . Examples of action research papers are included. There are study sites, videos, slides and other supplemental materials available for the students to consult for ancillary learning. The writing style is clear, interesting and engaging. Throughout the text, Mills offers the reader a research scenario that helps to position him or her around the theme of the chapter and context of the research phase. This helps to alleviate some of the anxiety students of action research may experience as they begin each aspect of the action research process." --Beverly Melenyzer, California University of Pennsylvania "[T]he survey examples, SurveyMonkey, and direct observation examples are very good, as well as the informal interview, making records, [and] data collection techniques. . . . [T]he section on re-aligning the focus and action research plan is very good. I find my students doing this as they are doing their literature review and understanding that they need to narrow the scope of their research. I like the example of doing AR in Ch. 6. . . . I like the inclusion of the data analysis, sample interview and other models of how to analyze data. . . . The key strengths of the project are the authentic examples of AR." --Mary Frances Agnello, Texas Tech University Features Balanced coverage of data collection and analysis techniques for qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods Chapter 4, Data Collection Techniques, covers collection techniques for the most frequently used qualitative and quantitative data, including observations, interviews, teacher-made tests, and standardized test data. Chapter 6, Data Analysis and Interpretation, guides students through data analysis and provides techniques, coding guidelines, and examples for analyzing both quantitative and qualitative data. Inclusion throughout the text of digital research tools that can be used by action researchers through each phase of the action research process. A focus on producing critical consumers of action research Chapter 9, Evaluating Action Research, helps students learn to read and critique studies completed by others. Included in Chapter 9 is an article from an action research journal that is analyzed using the new criteria for evaluating action research. Appendix A, Action Research in Action, contains an extended example and evaluation of an action research case study. Expanded coverage of the ethics of conducting research in your own classroom Chapter 2, Ethics, includes discussion of ethical guidelines and provides guidance for seeking and obtaining Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad#65533; and Android#65533; tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. * The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Call Number: LB 1028.24 .M55 2014
Publication Date: 2013-01-18
Practitioner Teacher Inquiry and Research by Carolyn BabioneTeacher inquiry helps improve educational outcomes Practitioner Teacher Inquiry and Research explores theconcept and importance of the teacher practitioner, and preparesstudents in teacher education courses and programs to conductresearch in the classroom. Author Carolyn Babione has extensiveexperience in undergraduate- and graduate-level teacher trainingand teacher inquiry coursework. In the book, Babione guidesstudents through the background, theory, and strategy required tosuccessfully conduct classroom research. The first part of the booktackles the "how-to" and "why" of teacher inquiry, while the secondpart provides students with real-life practitioner inquiry researchprojects across a range of school settings, content areas, andteaching strategies. The book's discussion includes topics suchas: Underlying cultural and historical perspectives surrounding theteaching profession Hidden stereotypes that limit teacher beliefs about power andvoice Current curriculum innovation and reflections on moderndevelopments Practitioner Teacher Inquiry and Research successfullyguides and encourages budding teachers to fully understand theimportance of their involvement in studying and researching theirclassroom settings, giving a better understanding of how theirbeliefs and teaching practices impact classroom learning.
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Action Research by S. Michael Putman; Tracy C. RockAction Research: Using Strategic Inquiry to Improve Teaching and Learning helps educators use research to guide decision-making and determine the effectiveness of various instructional strategies. The book leads the reader through the action research process using a model of self-regulation, which focuses on task definition, goal setting and planning, enacting research, and adaption. Written specifically for educators who may not feel prepared to measure the impact of interventions on student learning outcomes, the book provides very practical and useful tools, containing specific examples that are relevant to teachers' everyday reality. The text also reinforces how action research can improve the teaching and learning process by reinforcing or changing perceptions about the use of informal data, including anecdotal notes or observations, in the research process.