Subject/Research Guides: MED 8804 Action Research: Find Articles

Education Databases

Click on any database title to begin searching.

(You will be temporarily redirected to enter your myWilmU username and password.)

Education Source This link opens in a new window
ERIC This link opens in a new window The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.The Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Education Full-Text Journal Collection from Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Primary Search This link opens in a new window

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Suggested Journal Titles

Search for your topic in selected journal titles:

Academe
Action Research
American Education Research Journal
Education Journal
not peer reviewed
Educational Action Research
Education Research & Perspectives
Educational Assessment
Harvard Educational Review
not peer reviewed

Library Journal Locator

Library Journal Locator This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title and link to full text articles if available.

Qualitative and Quantitative Articles in EbscoHost databases

Qualitative and Quantitative Article search using EbscoHost databases

How to determine if an article is Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed

	Scholarly journal article	Non-scholarly journal article
Purpose	To share with other scholars the results of primary research and experiments	To entertain or inform in a broad, general sense
Audience	Researchers; Academic faculty & students	General public
Author	A respected scholar or researcher in the field; an expert on the topic; authors’ names are always noted.	A journalist or feature writer; authors’ names not always noted.
Publisher	A professional association; a university or scholarly commercial publisher.	A commercial publisher.
Appearance	Very basic layout, usually black text on white paper; tables or charts to illustrate research components; advertising is at a minimum and is subject-related.	Often printed on glossy paper with colored text or headlines; usually has accompanying photographs and many advertisements.
Publication Acceptance	Experts (peers) in the field review each article submission before publication acceptance (i.e. peer reviewed).	Writers are often employed by the magazine or publisher; acceptance is based largely on the topic’s consumer appeal; not peer reviewed.
Language	College-level; specialized vocabulary or jargon of the discipline	Non-technical, conversational/simple vocabulary
Article Length	Often lengthy (approximately 10-30 pages)	Often short (approximately 1-10 pages)
Article Organization & References	Highly-structured; include abstracts, review of literature, methodology, and citations to sources; always contain a bibliography of references	Loosely-structured; rarely have bibliographies; sometimes informally mention sources