General demographic and economic data (U.S. Census Bureau)

A source for open data and datasets from the US government.

A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.

This repository project inclused 88 worldwide repositories and is open to all researchers. Participate in a vibrant and growing community that is helping to drive the norms for sharing, preserving, citing, exploring, and analyzing research data.

Longitudinal study that surveys 20,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years, 1992 to present; includes questionnaires, codebooks, survey design information (National Institute on Aging)

ICPSR is a substantial archive of digital social science data that is provided by its member institutions. Fully downloadable data sets are available. This organization provides access to data for research and a tutorial for data use. The ICPSR website provides a searchable database of all of its data holdings.

An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults, 1975-2014 (University of Michigan)

An online journal and portal focusing on qualitative, critical, action, and collaborative inquiry and research; links to many different groups and projects involving qualitative research

Datasets are listed here as potential sources for data science or machine learning projects. Time series are available for most economic, business, census, and demographic statistics.

The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

DARE Database – UNESCO Database to the Social Sciences

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements publishes the Tests in Print and Mental Measurements Yearbook series.

Research guide on Delaware from the University of Delaware Library.

Find test descriptions and other testing information.

One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching with more than 17,000 links related to psychology.

Extensive list of sociology related links.

The University of Michigan maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

This website compiles data to document the health status of the population and of important subgroups, and to identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics. Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of healthcare.

Provides sociological commentary, data analyses, essays, and theories.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

The FBI compiles a variety of annual statistics, reports, and publications on crimes in the United States including topics such as Hate Crimes.

Provides links to statistics from various country and intergovernmental agencies.

Referred to as “The official [online] gateway to all government information.”