Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Resource Management

Website Evaluation

HR News Sources

Check out these other news sources provided by the Catherwood Library:

Human Resource Management Websites

Other Human Resource Management Web Resources

ALA Best of the Best Business Websites

The American Library Association compiles lists of online sources approved by librarians. The subject index offers broad categories for you to browse.

Big Charts

This website offers a variety of options to create stock charts and graphs. The historical stock information is particularly useful (see historical quotes.)

USA.gov - Small Business

Government links for business including country and trade data, business and employment data, and free government publications.

CEO Express

A site with an extensive list of business, news, government, reference, law, and technology links.

CNN Money

This site has concise information on US and global markets as well as stock market data.

Fuld & Company

An established competitive intelligence firm (business and industry research.) Their website offers links to numerous and useful free online resources.

University of South Carolina Libraries

Categorized list of sites including reference materials online and special “business search” sites.

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics

Economic, consumer, wage, employment, industry, demographic, spending, occupational, safety, and health data are all available from this excellent and well-organized site.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

This website offers free financial data including quarterly and annual reports on most U.S. public companies such as 10K and 10Q filings. In addition to corporate filings, news, laws, and regulations, a quick EDGAR tutorial is offered on this site.

World Bank Group Data 

Open access to databases and datasets, including World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).
Yahoo Finance

A substantial amount of free information and data including news, financials, stock research including current and historical data, and currency data. Yahoo has created an “Education Center” with some interesting glossaries and tutorials.
Employee Research Benefit Institute

EBRI is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization based in Washington, DC.

Society for Human Resource Management

The Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) is the world’s largest association devoted to human resource management. SHRM represents more than 250,000 members in over 140 countries.

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

U.S. Office of Personnel Management

U.S. Department of Labor- Employment Law Guide

U.S. Department of Labor- Bureau of International Affairs

O*Net

O*NET, the Occupational Information Network, is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics.

Google News: Human Resources

Stay up to date with the latest developments in the HR field.

BLS: Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey (JOLTS)

JOLTS collects data on Total Employment, Job Openings, Hires, Quits, Layoffs & Discharges, and Other Separations.

Association of Training and Development (formerly ASTD)

ATD is the world's largest association dedicated to workplace learning and development professionals. ATD's members come from more than 100 countries and connect locally in more than 120 U.S. chapters and with more than 20 international partners.

Big Dog's Human Resource Development Page

Includes online training materials, news links to vendors, links to people in the field of training and development, book reviews, and more.

HRM Guide

HRM Guide is an independent online publisher of articles and information about Human Resource Management and related subjects.

Knowledge@Wharton - Human Resources

Find articles, podcasts, videos, and interviews on issues in HR.

International Society for Performance Improvement (ISPI)

ISPI champions Human Performance Technology, a systematic approach to improving productivity and competence, using a set of methods and procedures -- and a strategy for solving problems -- for realizing opportunities related to the performance of people.

WorkSafeBC

Excellent Resources on HR issues from bullying to workplace safety.

Occupational Health & Safety Administration OSHA

With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)* to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education, and assistance.
OSHA is part of the United States Department of Labor. The administrator for OSHA is the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Occupational Safety and Health. OSHA's administrator answers to the Secretary of Labor, who is a member of the cabinet of the President of the United States.

State of Delaware - Office of Occupational Health

The office is responsible for conducting Health Hazard Assessments.

State of Delaware - Office of Workers' Compensation

The Office of Workers' Compensation administers and enforces state laws, rules, and regulations regarding industrial accidents and illnesses.

Occupational Health and Safety

Freely accessible magazine; articles available on many occupational health and safety topics including, emergency response and training.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Providing National and World Leadership to Prevent Workplace Illnesses and Injuries

United States Department of Labor

United States Department of Labor's (DOL) mission is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

State of Delaware - Department of Labor

The Delaware Department of Labor connects people to jobs, resources, monetary benefits, workplace protections, and labor market information to promote financial independence, workplace justice, and a strong economy.

Osh.net

Gateway to many useful occupational health and safety sites.

EHS Today

EHS Today has lots of articles and news about all aspects of occupational safety and health.

CISDOC database

The CIS bibliographic database contains about 70,000 citations of documents that deal with occupational accidents and diseases as well as ways of preventing them. The types of documents are: laws and regulations, chemical safety data sheets, training material, articles from periodical publications, books, and standards. Every record contains a detailed bibliographic description, a full abstract, and indexing descriptors drawn from the CIS Thesaurus. The CISDOC database is updated on a continuous basis.

U.S. Chemical Safety Board

Independent federal agency charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents. Find CSB safety recommendations and view details of past incident investigations.

International Association for Conflict Management

Consortium for Research on Emotional Intelligence in Organizations

Research Center for Group Dynamics (University of Michigan)

World Bank Group Data 

Open access to databases and datasets, including World Development Indicators (WDI), Global Development Finance (GDF), Africa Development Indicators (ADI), and Global Economic Monitor (GEM).

ALA Best of the Best Business Websites

The American Library Association compiles lists of online sources approved by librarians. The subject index offers broad categories for you to browse.

University of South Carolina Libraries

Categorized list of sites including reference materials online and special “business search” sites.

USA.gov - Small Business

Government links for business including country and trade data, business and employment data, and free government publications.

data.gov

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics

Economic, consumer, wage, employment, industry, demographic, spending, occupational, safety, and health data are all available from this excellent and well-organized site.

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

This website offers free financial data including quarterly and annual reports on most U.S. public companies such as 10K and 10Q filings. In addition to corporate filings, news, laws, and regulations, a quick EDGAR tutorial is offered on this site.

Big Charts

This website offers a variety of options to create stock charts and graphs. The historical stock information is particularly useful (see historical quotes.)

CNN Money

This site has concise information on US and global markets as well as stock market data.

CEO Express

A site with an extensive list of business, news, government, reference, law, and technology links.

Yahoo Finance

A substantial amount of free information and data including news, financials, stock research including current and historical data, and currency data. Yahoo has created an “Education Center” with some interesting glossaries and tutorials.