Subject/Research Guides: LRCG: Library Research Consultation Guide: RefWorks Tutorials

RefWorks Tutorials

RefWorks to the Rescue!
Ready to submit your paper but forgot to create the bibliography? No Worries! RefWorks can help you!
Click on the RefWorks title above to see how.

Refworks Basic Functionality
This RefWorks training session will cover the basic functionality of the RefWorks website. We won't cover all the features available to you, but we'll look at the ones you will use most frequently in RefWorks as you conduct your research.
Exporting References to RefWorks
This RefWorks training session covers ways to export references from other systems, so users can import them into RefWorks.
Creating References and adding Documents Within RefWorks
This RefWorks training session will cover several different ways to add references directly into RefWorks, including uploading a document, importing references from a file, creating a reference manually, and searching library databases for references.
Editing References in RefWorks
This training session will cover how to edit references in RefWorks, including correcting metadata before and after saving to RefWorks, adding tags, editing many references at once, and more.
Creating a Bibliography/References with RefWorks
Learn how to quickly and easily create a Bibliography/Reference in the New RefWorks.
Organizing References with Folders in RefWorks
This RefWorks training session will cover ways to organize your references into folders, including sharing folders with other researchers.
Writing with RefWorks
This RefWorks training session will cover several tools you can use when writing a research paper and using RefWorks to supply citations and bibliographies. We'll be showing RefWorks Citation Manager, Write-N-Cite, ProQuest RefWorks for Google Docs, and Quick Cite.

For Additional RefWorks Tutorials go to Google: RefWorks - YouTube

RefWorks Citation Manager
In this video we will walk you through the newest features for the latest version of RefWorks, Citation Manager.

Direct Link to the RefWorks HomePage and Resources:
RefWorks – This is a citation manager that the library subscribes to for students. It is a very useful tool to stay organized and help you with citing your work Here is the link to create an account and this same page has gold tabs with help on using RefWorks (ProQuest RefWorks Guide):
https://libguides-wilmu-edu.mylibrary.wilmu.edu/c.php?g=702377&p=4985861

Writing with RefWorks

RefWorks can be synced with Microsoft Word or Google Docs which will allow you to insert in-text citations and bibliographies as you are writing. You can either use the MS Word add on Write-N-Cite that can be downloaded from the Tools in RefWorks, or you can use the new interface called RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) which is a plugin that lets you run a simplified version of RefWorks inside Word.

RCM is the correct plugin if you are using Microsoft Word 365.

Which RefWorks plug-in should I use?
Scroll to view the table that lists operating systems and the correct RefWorks plug-in tool to use.
Writing with RefWorks
This RefWorks training session will cover several tools you can use when writing a research paper and using RefWorks to supply citations and bibliographies. We'll be showing RefWorks Citation Manager, Write-N-Cite, ProQuest RefWorks for Google Docs, and Quick Cite.

The links below give text instructions for installing the plugins.