It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Design at Alexander Street brings together the most influential creative works the world over, spanning centuries and continents to share the must-see pieces—both famed and lesser-known—that have left an indelible mark upon contemporary culture. These resources foster learning and discovery by pairing primary source artworks in a broad range of genres and formats with key commentary that explores the significance of the works in context. Students and faculty can find resources featuring the best in painting, sculpture, photography, mixed media, architecture, fashion design, and more.
Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Open Access Journals
Online journals can help students and current game designers keep up-to-date with the ethics, politics, business trends, and best practices in game design. These periodicals typically contain cutting-edge tech developments and academic observations.
This periodical is dedicated to multidisciplinary advancements within the field of gaming. Game Studies welcomes submissions from international scholars and professionals. New issues are released twice a year.
This journal, founded in 2007, is dedicated to advancements in gaming technology and interactive media. Readers can find over 100 articles within the IJCGT archives, which explore subjects like body motion sensors, motivational gaming elements, auditory gaming enhancement, and game immersion psychology.
This is a multidisciplinary journal dedicated to various facets of design, including visual communications, animation, user interface, and gaming design. The first volume was released in 2007, and new issues are published three times a year. Writers are encouraged to submit reviews, original articles, and design case studies that are professionally or academically relevant, and that challenges readers to explore the cultural impacts of design.
This is a feminist publication managed, edited, and published by Fembot Collective and the University of Oregon. Articles dive deep into gaming theory, gender studies, and queer rhetoric. Ada welcomes feminist submissions on technology, gaming, media, and gender. New issues are released twice a year.
The growth of the software game development industry is enormous and is gaining importance day by day. This growth imposes severe pressure and a number of issues and challenges on the game development community. Game development is a complex process, and one important game development choice is to consider the developer’s perspective to produce good-quality software games by improving the game development process. The objective of this study is to provide a better understanding of the developer’s dimension as a factor in software game success. It focuses mainly on an empirical investigation of the effect of key developer’s factors on the software game development process and eventually on the quality of the resulting game. A quantitative survey was developed and conducted to identify key developer’s factors for an enhanced game development process. For this study, the developed survey was used to test the research model and hypotheses. The results provide evidence that game development organizations must deal with multiple key factors to remain competitive and to handle high pressure in the software game industry. The main contribution of this paper is to investigate empirically the influence of key developer’s factors on the game development process.
The emergence of various interest-based online communities has led to the popularity of new forms of distributed creative teamwork such as citizen science, crowdsourcing, and open source software development. These new phenomena further complicate the context and content of distributed creative teamwork: what are the characteristics of these new forms of creative teams? And how do they shape people’s perceptions and social experiences of distributed creative teams? In this paper, we report our empirical research of the team characteristics and practices in a creativity-centric technology community (i.e., independent [indie] game development) in hopes of exploring these questions. Our findings show that 1) indie game development teams are formed upon shared aspirations and use various strategies to collaborate with friends or online strangers; and their team practices are achieved through a balance between individual creativity and collective vision as well as a collaborative learning for problem solving and self-improvement; and 2) these teams mediate new forms of social interaction and collaborative experiences, featuring a mix of online comradery and weak social ties, and a mix of self-confidence and self-confliction. Using this new dataset and research context, we confirm and extend existing theories of distributed creative teams in CSCW. We also argue that studying these small-scale, self-selected, and interest-based teams can inform the design of collaborative systems to support various creative teams’ social needs.
In recent years, the increasing popularity of casual games for mobile and web has promoted the development of new editors to make video games easier to create. The development of these interactive applications is on its way to becoming democratized, so that anyone who is interested, without any advanced knowledge of programming, can create them for devices such as mobile phones or consoles. Nevertheless, most game development environments rely on the traditional way of programming and need advanced technical skills, even despite today’s improvements. This paper presents a new 2D game engine that reduces the complexity of video game development processes. The game specification has been simplified, decreasing the complexity of the engine architecture and introducing a very easy-to-use editing environment for game creation. The engine presented here allows the behaviour of the game objects to be defined using a very small set of conditions and actions, without the need to use complex data structures. Some experiments have been designed in order to validate its ease of use and its capacity in the creation of a wide variety of games. To test it, users with little experience in programming have developed arcade games using the presented environment as a proof of its easiness with respect to other comparable software. Results obtained endorse the concept and the hypothesis of its easiness of use and demonstrate the engine potential.
The aim of this article is to advance a framework for understanding and teaching game design in higher education, in order to address complexities inherent in teaching game design courses. Everyday teaching and learning game design often deviate from the standard textbook model of game design. In reality everyday teaching and learning operate with handling game design curriculum, how to think games, and how to organise the development process. The presented framework merge curriculum, thinking, and process guided by the game design concept of juiciness. The framework will be presented by dismantling the standard textbook model of game design into three; game design (curriculum), game design thinking (thinking), and game development (organisation). In this perspective game design is concerned with game mechanics, game design thinking preoccupied with paper prototyping, metaphor, and framing, while game developments addresses player experience including play and game testing. This article will coin vertical design as juiciness as opposed to horizontal design understood as expanding system layout. Juiciness will be placed as a guiding principle in the relationship between designers and designed content as an aspect of designer intentions and motivations. Lastly, the content centric framework will be presented by merging game design, game design thinking, game development, vertical design with selected aspects of accepted software development strategies as an approach to teaching and learning game design in higher education.
Recent research on game-based assessment and training demonstrates growing interest in how individual differences affect game-based outcomes. However, there is still a lack of clarity about the variables that affect important game-based outcomes and issues with measurement approaches regarding these variables (e.g., no validation of scales). This study develops a model where video game pursuit (VGPu) is measured as an antecedent to entering the gaming cycle. We propose that VGPu-related antecedents lead to a feedback loop where engaging in the game cycle affects game-related outcomes which again affect the antecedents of re-entering the game cycle. Moreover, we validate a measure of VGPu and provide construct as well as criterion validity evidence. The findings demonstrate the value of the VGPu scale for research and practice because pursuing video games seems to be an important variable for predicting how individuals perform and react to game-based activities. Finally, we discuss implications for future research and practice in the realm of game-based assessment and training.