Ethics and Defining Cultural Competence.Global ethics calls upon the discipline of nursing to critically evaluate personal and culture-based beliefs to nurture professionalism in relationships and improve health disparities. What does it potentially mean to provide nurse services based on culture and cultural competence? This article begins a discussion of potential ethical questions that surround the concept of culture and potential implications for education and practice from a nursing theoretical perspective.
Physical Examination - Definition (2018)Fallon, L. F., Jr., (2018). Physical Examination. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (4th ed., Vol. 5, pp. 2793-2796). Gale. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3662600897/GVRL?u=new90507&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=9368ec5c
The Centers for Disease Control and PreventionInformation on this site can be useful for professionals and the general public. Highlights of the site include a link to “faststats” health related statistics organized by state or major illness. The A-Z index lists more than 500 health related topics and diseases or visitors can easily search the entire site by using their searchbox.
Merck Manuals Online Medical LibraryAs a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. The Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
Centre for Evidence-Based MedicineSite produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.
A website that offers a directory of online journals freely available on the web. Journals are organized by both title and specialty.
Medline PlusThis site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”
The Online Journal of Issues in NursingA free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”