Master of Science - Nurse Practitioner

NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

Information on this site can be useful for professionals and the general public. Highlights of the site include a link to “faststats” health related statistics organized by state or major illness. The A-Z index lists more than 500 health related topics and diseases or visitors can easily search the entire site by using their searchbox.

Site produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.

The United States Institutes of Health provides ClinicalTrials, a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this database, which is a subset of PubMed.

This program of the U.S. Agency for International Development "has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries." Site posts survey datasets, statistical data and analyses, methodologies, curriculum, publications, and more.

he content on FamilyDoctor.org is intended for all individuals who are seeking reliable health information. Health content is written at a 6th to 8th grade reading level to make information understandable and accessible to all users. Content written specifically to children and teens is also available on the site.

A website that offers a directory of online journals freely available on the web. Journals are organized by both title and specialty.

Very useful site from the Office of Global Health Affairs, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, with information and analysis about global health issues, national profiles, speeches, and pointers to fact sheets, statistics, reports, and guides to similar information from other U.S. and international sources.

Core reference source for government-compiled health statistics. Provides trend tables that are updated as new data becomes available.

Global disease alert map that "brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health... the data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location for user-friendly access to the original alert... provides a jumping-off point for real-time information on emerging infectious diseases and has particular interest for public health officials and international travelers."

The “Web Sites of Interest” section located on Kent State’s Library page leads to many excellent online sources of nursing information for professionals and the general public.

This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”

As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. The Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.

Contains statistics on selected diseases reported to the Center for Disease Control by state health departments.

This website provides data to document the health status of the population and of important subgroups, and to identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, etc. Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of healthcare.

A website with information about conferences, events, publications, scientific advances, and links to other excellent sites.

The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.

A free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”

This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

Their site contains extensive links to reference material such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, reports, online publications.

Internet resources for nurses.

Reviews on health topics.

Very wide range of information from this U.N.-related body, with many user-customizable features. Note especially the Library, the Bulletin of the WHO, and the Data and Statistics sections, as well as the annual World Health Reports and World Health Statistics Reports. The WHO Statistical Information System is "the guide to health and health-related epidemiological and statistical information available from the World Health Organization." The Global InfoBase "collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states." The Media Centre provides the latest information. Disease Outbreak News offers the latest news and reports on communicable disease surveillance and response around the world. The International Travel and Health report "provides information on the main health risks for travelers." There is also a Tropical Diseases section.