MSN 7702 - Advanced Health Assessment - Master of Science - Nurse Practitioner - Subject/Research Guides at Wilmington University Library

Welcome to MSN 7702

Find tips to assist with MSN 7702 - Advanced Health Assessment

Other Library Databases to Check

In addition to the nursing databases (learn more on the Find Articles Tab), there are other places you might like to search. Most require you WilmU credentials to access.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window News & Newspapers is a single source for coverage of two of the nation's leading newspapers. The database includes abstracting, indexing, and comprehensive full text for: New York Times (backfile to 1980) Wall Street Journal (backfile to 1984)
Nursing eBooks (R2 Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections.

Web Resources

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
American Nurses Association
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Information on this site can be useful for professionals and the general public. Highlights of the site include a link to “faststats” health related statistics organized by state or major illness. The A-Z index lists more than 500 health related topics and diseases or visitors can easily search the entire site by using their searchbox.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Site produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) on PubMed
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this database, which is a subset of PubMed.
Free Medical Journals
A website that offers a directory of online journals freely available on the web. Journals are organized by both title and specialty.
Health (United States)
Core reference source for government-compiled health statistics. Provides trend tables that are updated as new data becomes available.
Kent State University Nursing Home Page
The “Web Sites of Interest” section located on Kent State’s Library page leads to many excellent online sources of nursing information for professionals and the general public.
Medline Plus
This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. The Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Contains statistics on selected diseases reported to the Center for Disease Control by state health departments.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
This website provides data to document the health status of the population and of important subgroups, and to identify disparities in health status and use of health care by race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, etc. Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of healthcare.
The National Institute of Nursing Research
A website with information about conferences, events, publications, scientific advances, and links to other excellent sites.
National Network of Libraries of Medicine
The NNLM has gathered an excellent and varied selection of resources for nursing and health professionals.
Nursing Theory Page
Nursing World
General nursing practice links from ANA (American Nurses Association).
The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing
A free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”
State Health Facts Online
This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
The United States Department of Health and Human Services
Their site contains extensive links to reference material such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, reports, online publications.
The University of Delaware - Nursing
Internet resources for nurses.