Find Articles - Master of Science - Nurse Practitioner - Subject/Research Guides at Wilmington University Library

Suggested Journals

Please login with your WilmU credentials to access these licensed journals. If you have trouble, please contact the library for tips on how to search individual journals.

Clinical Advisor Provides information about diagnosing, treating, managing and preventing conditions seen in a typical office-based primary-care setting.
Clinician Reviews
Journal for Nurse Practitioners - JNP
Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners
Nurse Practitioner The Nurse Practitioner is the leading monthly source for clinical, practical, cutting-edge information for advanced practice nurses and other primary care clinicians. Each issue presents peer-reviewed articles that range from clinical topics and research to political and practice issues. In addition, The The Nurse Practitioner provides regular features, columns, continuing education, staff development education, and more.
Pediatric Nursing Provides current information on practice, policy, and research for pediatric nurses. Emphasis is places on the changing role of the pediatric nurse practitioner/clinical specialist.

Full A-Z list of library databases

Access the full A-Z list of all Wilmu Library Databases

Library Journal Locator

Find journals by title and link to full text.

Library Journal Locator This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title and link to full text articles if available.

Selected Nursing Journals

The Delaware Journal of Public Health The mission of the Delaware Journal of Public Health is to promote Delaware-specific public health research, policy, practice, and education.
more...less...
The Delaware Journal of Public Health aims to:
- Highlight public health in Delaware within a regional, national, and global context;
- Highlight Delaware-specific public health challenges;
- Give Delaware researchers, clinical experts, state institutions, public and private institutions a platform to discuss, review, and increase awareness of Delaware programs;
- Provide historical context of public health practices and tools, and provide the evidence for its use.
Nursing
Nursing Administration Quarterly
Nursing & Health Sciences
Nursing & Residential Care
Nursing BC
Nursing Economic$
Nursing Education Perspectives
Nursing Ethics
Nursing Diagnosis
Nursing for Women's Health
Nursing Forum
Nursing History Review
Nursing Homes: Long Term Care Management
Nursing in Critical Care
Nursing Journal
Nursing Management

Find Articles in Library Databases for Health Professions

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
OVID Nursing Full Text PLUS This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Access includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) This link opens in a new window
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. JAMA is the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world, with more than 286,000 recipients of the print journal, more than 1.1 million recipients of electronic tables of contents and alerts, and nearly 25 million annual visits to the journal's website.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Online is an electronic journal service that provides access to the full text of over 2500 journals published by Springer (the combination of the former Springer-Verlag and Kluwer Academic Publishers).
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource comprised of over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window Cochrane Controlled Trials Register is a bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Includes reports published in conference proceedings and other sources not currently listed in MEDLINE or other bibliographic databases. CCRCT is part of Cochrane Collection Plus which combines the most comprehensive databases from the Cochrane Library, a key resource in evidence-based medicine. All databases in Cochrane Collection Plus are published by Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Methodology Register is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and in some cases, a summary of the article. CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group.
HaPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new window HaPI is comprised of bibliographic information for peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs. Information is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. An essential resource for researchers, students, and clinicians, HaPI covers behavioral measurement tools used across professions and disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication and sociology. Each record within HaPI includes the following detailed information: title, acronym, authors, language, index terms and references. Some records also contain abstracts, sample items, number of questions, subscales, reliability and other information. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included.
RAND Health – Surveys and Tools This link opens in a new window
All of the surveys and tools from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes). Some materials listed are not available from RAND Health. Links will take you to other websites, where you will find instructions for use. The 64 surveys currently offered cover a wide range of health and health delivery concerns.
Patient Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) This link opens in a new window
Contains measures domains related to physical health, mental health, & social health for both adults & children. From the NIH.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

Link to full list of Health Profession Databases