It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WilmU Librarians are available to help you with your research needs, in-person and online. Library instruction and research consultations are available by Zoom web conference and by phone. You can Chat with one of the library staff or send an email for a quick question. If you have a more in-depth research need, please complete the consultation request form linked below.
View videos and tutorials on research and using the library databases.
Recommended Library Databases
OVID Nursing Full Text PLUSThis link opens in a new windowOvid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Access includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995.
Watch a brief tutorial on searching in the OVID Nursing Full Text Plus database
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Watch a brief tutorial on searching in the CINAHL database
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education.
Click on the hyperlinked title to learn more. You may need to log in with your WilmU credentials or refresh the screen to access these eBooks.
Emerging Technologies for Nurses by Whende M. Carroll (Editor)Learn and innovate with the latest technologies in Nursing and Healthcare!The first text of its kind in nursing, this book provides up-to-date information on innovative, smart technologies that nurses can use in clinical and non-clinical settings to keep up with the changing face of healthcare. This compelling guide will provide you with information about exciting areas of technology that have great potential to improve patient care. Subjects include big data, artificial intelligence, virtual and augmented realities, connected technologies, and precision health. There is also discussion of the shift of healthcare delivery into the community, with an outlook on improving outcomes and enhancing practice. Each chapter focuses on developing competency in current and future real-world applications of emerging technologies. Early chapters describe how to utilize new tools, processes, models, and products to serve the Quadruple Aim of better managing populations, decreasing costs, and enhancing both the patient and the clinician's experience. The culture of innovation coincides with the ever-changing politics of healthcare in later chapters, which then evolves into the entrepreneurial opportunities for nurses. This text is an essential introduction for all practicing nurses, nurse leaders, and nurses teaching health IT or informatics courses. Key Features: Written by Nurses for Nurses The latest information on emerging Health Information Technology and associated Nursing Implications Compelling cases show the dramatic effect of innovations on value-based care Learn how applying novel technologies can improve patient care
Publication Date: 2020 eBook
The Importance of Health Informatics in Public Health During a Pandemic by J. Mantas (Editor); A. Hasman (Editor); M. S. Househ (Editor)The COVID-19 pandemic has increased the focus on health informatics and healthcare technology for policy makers and healthcare professionals worldwide. This book contains the 110 papers (from 160 submissions) accepted for the 18th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH 2020), held virtually in Athens, Greece, from 3 - 5 July 2020. The conference attracts scientists working in the field of Biomedical and Health Informatics from all continents, and this year it was held as a Virtual Conference, by means of teleconferencing, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the consequent lockdown in many countries around the world. The call for papers for the conference started in December 2019, when signs of the new virus infection were not yet evident, so early submissions were on the usual topics as announced. But papers submitted after mid-March were mostly focused on the first results of the pandemic analysis with respect to informatics in different countries and with different perspectives of the spread of the virus and its influence on public health across the world. This book therefore includes papers on the topic of the COVID-19 pandemic in relation to informatics reporting from hospitals and institutions from around the world, including South Korea, Europe, and the USA. The book encompasses the field of biomedical and health informatics in a very broad framework, and the timely inclusion of papers on the current pandemic will make it of particular interest to all those involved in the provision of healthcare everywhere.
Publication Date: 2020 eBook
Nurse As Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice by Susan B. BastableNurse as Educator, Fifth Edition, prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. The Fifth Edition features coverage of relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socioeconomics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process.
Publication Date: 2017-12-20 eBook
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator by Marilyn H. OermannThis all-inclusive text on teaching in nursing is by one of the pre-eminent nurse educators in the United States: Dr. Marilyn Oermann. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it is designed to provide graduate-level nursing students with all of the competencies essential for effective teaching. This evidence-based text encompasses both theoretical and practical information and includes content on teaching and learning, assessment and evaluation, curriculum development, using technology, teaching in simulation, learning lab and online courses, models for clinical teaching, scholarship and evidence-based education, and other components of the educator role. Each chapter begins with goals and concludes with a content summary. Relevant research is cited to provide evidence for the concepts presented.. Chapters include practical examples of the methods and strategies presented and ihow toi tips for readers. The book features an on-line teaching guide that includes PowerPoint slides, Case Examples, a Sample Course Syllabus, and Online Course Materials including chapters summaries, learner activities, discussion questions, and selected assessment strategies. In addition to her renown as a highly respected educator, Dr. Oermann has authored 14 books including Evaluation and Testing in Nursing and Education, Third Edition, Springer Publishing, 2013. Key Features: Covers, in just one text, the complete span of theoretical and practical knowledge essential for effective teaching in nursing Written by renowned nurse-educators and authors Integrates relevant research and practical examples in each chapter Addresses the main test blueprint for CNE Certification Exam Strong focus on technology in teaching by experts in their fields, including chapters on: Integrating Technology in EducationClinical Simulations Teaching in Online Learning Environments Instructor resource includes: Course Syllabus, PowerPoint prsentations for each chapter, Online Course with 16 modules with summaries, learning activities, discussion questions, online resources, selected case studies, and assessment strategies
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Curriculum Development and Evaluation in Nursing by Sarah B. KeatingThe second edition of the current leading nursing text in curriculum development and evaluation continues to serve nurse educators in academic settings as well as in the practice arena. It is a practical guide for developing, revising, and evaluating nursing curricula and educational programs, complete with case studies and details on conducting a needs assessment to determine the extent of revision necessary within current curricula. This text focuses on evidence-based practice, safety and quality assurance concepts, and the role of creative and critical-thinking aspects. It highlights NLN and AACN core competencies in developing and evaluating curricula in all levels of nursing programs. Additionally, it includes a comprehensive list of critical evaluation and accreditation tips, directions on how to prepare for an accreditation visit, and two proposed curricula for nurse educators to consider adapting into educational materials.Key features: Discusses the continuing growth of technology and its application in nursing programsExamines health care reform legislation that is expected to change the way care is deliveredContains updates on the continuing career-ladder and entry-level issues related to nursingProvides details on pedagogical methods, objectives, discussion points, learning activities, and referencesIncludes a glossary of commonly used terms in curriculum development and evaluation This revised edition further examines several major objectives of the text, including major milestones for the past 100 years in the American nursing education system, program review and accreditation processes, and evaluating current trends in nursing education and their role in curriculum development.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Evidence-Based Teaching in Nursing by Sharon Cannon; Carol BoswellEvidence-Based Teaching in Nursing: A Foundation for Educators, Second Edition focuses on providing potential and current nursing faculty with the tools and knowledge they need to achieve highly successful outcomes for teaching nursing students and staff. The Second Edition also concentrates on the full role of nursing faculty and not just the educational process. This robust text provides concrete examples of best practices within nursing education and has been crafted in a manner to excite faculty members to create a learning environment grounded in best practices and evidence. Today's healthcare environment demands that practice be based on evidence, so the educational process should also be based on best practice and evidence. New to the Second Edition: * Updated and revised content * Coverage of social media and informatics * Information on different types of classroom and student involvement * Discussion of new innovations in online education * Focus on simulation education
Publication Date: 2014-12-24
Handbook of Research on Emerging Pedagogies for the Future of Education by Aras Bozkurt (Editor)The COVID-19 pandemic caused educational institutions to close for the safety of students and staff and to aid in prevention measures around the world to slow the spread of the outbreak. Closures of schools and the interruption of education affected billions of enrolled students of all ages, leading to nearly the entire student population to be impacted by these measures. Consequently, this changed the educational landscape. Emergency remote education (ERE) was put into practice to ensure the continuity of education and caused the need to reinterpret pedagogical approaches. The crisis revealed flaws within our education systems and exemplified how unprepared schools were for the educational crisis both in K-12 and higher education contexts. These shortcomings require further research on education and emerging pedagogies for the future. The Handbook of Research on Emerging Pedagogies for the Future of Education: Trauma-Informed, Care, and Pandemic Pedagogy evaluates the interruption of education, reports best-practices, identifies the strengths and weaknesses of educational systems, and provides a base for emerging pedagogies. The book provides an overview of education in the new normal by distilling lessons learned and extracting the knowledge and experience gained through the COVID-19 global crisis to better envision the emerging pedagogies for the future of education. The chapters cover various subjects that include mathematics, English, science, and medical education, and span all schooling levels from preschool to higher education. The target audience of this book will be composed of professionals, researchers, instructional designers, decision-makers, institutions, and most importantly, main-actors from the educational landscape interested in interpreting the emerging pedagogies and future of education due to the pandemic.
Publication Date: 2021, eBook
Culturally Responsive Practices by Yvette Hyter; Marlene Salas-ProvanceCulturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Second Edition provides an innovative perspective on cultural responsiveness in the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is imperative for clinicians and scientists to be aware of diverse aspects of globalization: how these aspects may affect their own knowledge, strengths, biases, and interventions, as well as the relationships between the communities, families, and individuals with whom they partner in care.