The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
CINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
The EBSCOhost User Interface has been upgraded to an all new user experience! Use this guide to get acquainted with the new interface.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Click on the hyperlinked title to learn more. You may need to log in with your WilmU credentials or refresh the screen to access these eBooks.
Health Equity and Nursing by
Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice.Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, the text discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes.
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd Edition by
Nurses focus on the art and science of caregiving, but nurse managers are faced with the economic reality of patient-staffing ratios, budgets, reports, and accounting. Acronyms such as FTEs and ADCs can feel like a foreign language, but thankfully, help is available. Updated to include details about key legislation that will affect budgeting, The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd Edition, provides practical tools, tips, and strategies for running a unit that you weren't taught in nursing school: Operating and capital budget development and planning for the year Formulas and calculations for full-time employee hours, variances, and benefit costs Explanation of financial statements, budgets, and reimbursement documents The relationship between high reliability organizations (HROs) and finance/budgets Differences between not-for-profit and for-profit institutions
Policy and Politics for Nurses and Other Health Professionals by 
The Battle for Veterans' Healthcare by
In The Battle for Veterans' Healthcare, award-winning author Suzanne Gordon takes us to the front lines of federal policymaking and healthcare delivery, as it affects eight million Americans whose military service makes them eligible for Veterans Health Administration (VHA) coverage. Gordon's collected dispatches provide insight and information too often missing from mainstream media reporting on the VHA and from Capitol Hill debates about its future. Drawing on interviews with veterans and their families, VHA staff and administrators, health care policy experts and Congressional decision makers, Gordon describes a federal agency under siege that nevertheless accomplishes its difficult mission of serving men and women injured, in myriad ways, while on active duty.
Achieving Access by
At a time when the world's wealthiest nations struggle to make health care and medicine available to everyone, why do resource-constrained countries make costly commitments to universal health coverage and AIDS treatment after transitioning to democracy? Joseph Harris explores the dynamics that made landmark policies possible in Thailand and Brazil but which have led to prolonged struggle and contestation in South Africa. Drawing on firsthand accounts of the people wrestling with these issues, Achieving Access documents efforts to institutionalize universal healthcare and expand access to life-saving medicines in three major industrializing countries. In comparing two separate but related policy areas, Harris finds that democratization empowers elite professionals, such as doctors and lawyers, to advocate for universal health care and treatment for AIDS. Harris's analysis is situated at the intersection of sociology, political science, and public health and will speak to scholars with interests in health policy, comparative politics, social policy, and democracy in the developing world. In light of the growing interest in health insurance generated by implementation of the Affordable Care Act (as well as the coming changes poised to be made to it), Achieving Access will also be useful to policymakers in developing countries and officials working on health policy in the United States.
Privacy Rights in the Digital Age by
This new encyclopedia discusses the practical, political, psychological, and philosphical challenges we face as technological advances have changed the landscape of traditional notions of privacy.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
