CINAHL Complete advanced search allows users to filter results to Evidence Based Practice.
Look for this filter at the bottom of the initial search page.
MEDLINE database filters can be used to locate specific content such as Systematic Reviews and Randomized Controlled Trials.
Look for these filters on the initial search page.
Click on the hyperlinked title to learn more. You may need to log in with your WilmU credentials or refresh the screen to access these eBooks.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes. The 2021 revised JHEBP Model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.We revised the flow of the book chapters across the sections to reflect the progression of steps in the EBP process.We included a new introduction for the evidence section that includes background on the use of evidence hierarchies, tips for differentiating research from quality improvement, and further explanation of the summary and synthesis steps in the evidence process.We made significant enhancements to the appendices by including flowcharts, decision supports, and greater specificity in the directions.We provided real-world examples for how to complete all tools using feedback from our global users as well as tried and tested helpful hints.We added a new chapter to expand and amplify strategies for dissemination that includes how to create a dissemination plan, audience-specific recommendations for internal and external dissemination venues, details of the pros and cons of different types of dissemination, guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication, and an overview of the journal review process.Chapter-specific enhancements: Chapter 3: Defines critical thinking and clinical reasoning and differentiates their use in the PET process.Chapter 4: Outlines stakeholder selection criteria and an algorithm to determine the need for an EBP project.Chapter 5: Includes new information on the literature screening process to navigate a large number of results Chapter 6: Provides useful clarifications of research approaches, designs, and methods with a focus on frontline staff as the target audienceChapter 8: Includes revised synthesis and translation steps; assesses risk prior to translation; prioritizes translation models accessible to frontline staff with a focus on the QI methodology and PDSA; and describes an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EPB project.
Compassionate Person-Centered Care for the Dying by
A milestone resource for palliative care nurses that facilitates evidence-based compassionate and humanistic care of the dying A valuable contribution to the evolving field of palliative nursing care. It is authored by a model for this field, Bonnie Freeman, and brings to the bedside what her practice embodies--evidence-based clinically expert care...The CARES tool is a long-needed resource and we are all grateful to the author for moving her passion to paper. It will touch the lives and deaths of patients, families, and the nurses who care for them. --Betty Ferrell, PhD, RN, MA, FAAN, FCPN, CHPN Professor and Director, Division of Nursing Research and Education City of Hope National Medical Center From the Foreword This groundbreaking reference for palliative care nurses is the first to provide realistic and achievable evidence-based methods for incorporating compassionate and humanistic care of the dying into current standards of practice. It builds on the author's research-based CARES tool; a reference that synthesizes five key elements demonstrated to enable a peaceful death, as free from suffering as possible: comfort, airway management, management of restlessness and delirium, emotional and spiritual support, and selfcare for nurses. The book describes, step by step, how nurses can easily implement the basic tenets of the CARES tool into their end-of-life practice. It provides a clearly defined plan that can be individualized for each patient and tailored to specific family needs, and facilitates caring for the dying in the most respectful and humane way possible. The book identifies the most common symptom management needs in dying patients and describes, in detail, the five components of the CARES paradigm and how to implement them to enable a peaceful death and minimize suffering. It includes palliative care prompts founded on 29 evidence-based recommendations and the National Consensus Project for Palliative Care Clinical Practice Guidelines. The resource also addresses the importance of the nurse to act as a patient advocate, how to achieve compassionate communication with the patient and family, and barriers and challenges to compassionate care. Case studies emphasize the importance of compassionate nursing care of the dying and how it can be effectively achieved. Key Features: Provides nurses with a clear understanding of the most common needs of the dying and supplies practical applications to facilitate and improve care Clarifies the current and often complex literature on care of the dying Includes case studies illustrating the most common needs of dying patients and how these are addressed effectively by the CARES tool Based on extensive evidence as well as on the National Consensus Project for Palliative Care Clinical Practice Guidelines Bonnie Freeman, DNP, ANP, RN, ACHPN, is an adult nurse practitioner in the Department of Supportive Care Medicine at the City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte, California. She is involved with treating the symptom management needs of many chronically and terminally ill individuals diagnosed with various forms of cancer. Dr. Freeman trained at such excellent facilities as the in-patient units at San Diego Hospice and the Institute of Palliative Medicine in San Diego, California, and the home care hospice program in Owensboro, Kentucky. While in Kentucky, she completed her advanced practice clinical training for adult nurse practitioners with a specialty focus on palliative care through Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. This program exposed Dr. Freeman to current concepts in caring for the dying, and enhanced her already significant clinical experience caring for dying individuals acquired from over 30 years working in critical care. Dr. Freeman obtained her MSN from Indiana Wesleyan University, and her DNP f
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by
The leading textbook on psychotherapy for advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. Award-winning and highly lauded, Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches for both new and experienced advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. This expanded third edition includes a revised framework for practice based on new theory and research on attachment and neurophysiology. It advises the reader on when and how to use techniques germane to various evidence-based psychotherapy approaches for the specific client problems encountered in clinical practice. The skillful therapist knows how to respond, engage, and accurately assess the problem to formulate a treatment plan. This textbook guides the reader in accurate assessment through a comprehensive understanding of development and the application of neuroscience to make sense of what is happening for the patient in treatment. Contributed by leaders in the field, chapters integrate the best evidence-based approaches into a relationship-based framework and provides helpful patient-management strategies, from the first contact through termination. This gold-standard textbook and reference honors the heritage of psychiatric nursing, reaffirms the centrality of relationship for psychiatric advanced practice, and celebrates the excellence, vitality, depth, and breadth of knowledge of the specialty.
Evidence-Based Leadership, Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Nursing and Healthcare by
Delivers a practical leadership approach that will thrive in today's healthcare environment This application-based text is designed to cultivate nursing and healthcare leaders who embrace the demands and opportunities of today's healthcare environment, which is rooted in innovation. Authored by world-class innovators and leaders in evidence-based healthcare practice, the book provides proven strategies to incorporate innovative and evidence-based leadership strategies into daily use to build creative, high-functioning, and sustainable organizations. The book differs from traditional academic texts by providing content that is practical, personal, and engaging. It provides a clear path for readers to integrate innovation and leadership principles into their careers and daily practice. The text is enhanced by individualized quotes and first-person accounts from healthcare industries. Chapters offer objectives and case studies. Other features include "Calls to Action" which will help readers develop leadership skills, and "Key Takeaway Points" to help remember important concepts. Podcasts conducted with prolific leaders illustrate the many challenges they have faced over the years.Key Features: Rooted in AACN Essentials for DNP and Master's EducationProvides practical information on leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurshipIncludes best practice applications for healthcare and non-healthcare industries to improve outcomes in real-world settingsProvides case studies, "Calls to Action," and "Key Takeaway Points"Includes podcasts with top healthcare leaders
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence.New to the Fourth Edition:Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examplesExploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each levelExpanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier AccessInstructor ResourcesInstructor's ManualTime-on-task analysisInteractive lecturesCompetency mapping documentPowerPoint slidesTest bankPractice activitiesEvolving case study
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing by
This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings.
Empirical Nursing by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners.
Click on the hyperlinked title to learn more. You may need to log in with your WilmU credentials or refresh the screen to access these eBooks.
Practical Statistics for Nursing and Health Care by
Nursing is a growing area of higher education, in which anintroduction to statistics is an essential component. There iscurrently a gap in the market for a 'user-friendly' book which iscontextulised and targeted for nursing. Practical Statistics forNursing and Health Care introduces statistical techniques in such away that readers will easily grasp the fundamentals to enable themto gain the confidence and understanding to perform their ownanalysis. It also provides sufficient advice in areas such asclinical trials and epidemiology to enable the reader to criticallyappraise work published in journals such as the Lancet and BritishMedical Journal. * Covers all basic statistical concepts and tests * Is user-friendly - avoids excessive jargon * Includes relevant examples for nurses, including case studies anddata sets * Provides information on further reading * Starts from first principles and progresses step by step * Includes 'advice on' sections for all of the tests described
Research Process in Nursing (7th Edition) by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Design and Analysis of Clinical Nursing Research Studies by
This invaluable text on the design and analysis of clinical research studies explains the basis of experimental design and statistics in a way that is sensitive to the clinical context in which nurses work. It uses data from actual studies to illustrate how to: *design the study *use and select data *present research findings *use a computer for statistical analysis. The scope of the study designs and associated statistical techniques covered in the book allow both the beginning nurse researcher and the more seasoned professional nurse investigator to approach a research study with confidence and optimism. The authors show how qualitative data can be approached quantitatively, what the advantages of this are from the nursing viewpoint, and how quantitative methodology can help nurses to develop a common research language with other disciplines involved in patient care.
Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics Using R by
A practical source for performing essential statistical analyses and data management tasks in R Univariate, Bivariate, and Multivariate Statistics Using R offers a practical and very user-friendly introduction to the use of R software that covers a range of statistical methods featured in data analysis and data science. The author-- a noted expert in quantitative teaching --has written a quick go-to reference for performing essential statistical analyses and data management tasks in R.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy