WilmU Librarians are available to help you with your research needs. Library instruction and research consultations are available by Zoom web conference, in person and by phone. You can Chat with one of the library staff or send an email for a quick question. If you have a more in-depth research need, please complete the consultation request form linked below.
View videos and tutorials on research and using the library databases.
Books from the Wilmington University Library Collection
Academic Leadership in Nursing by Leslie Neal-Boylan; Sharron E. Guillett; Chappy SharonThis is the first resource to compare the experiences of nursing academic leaders among public, private, and for-profit institutions for nurse educators of all experience levels and ambitions. While most nursing faculty and administrators looking for new professional opportunities often use salary, geographic location, and even school reputation to inform their choice, the importance of culture and organizational structure cannot be overstated. The information and advice in this text addresses misconceptions and myths about all three types of organizations to enable readers to thrive in their chosen institution. Written for instructors looking to expand leadership skills within their teaching roles, those seeking more formal leadership positions, and novice academic leaders, this text delivers a first-hand perspective on what it takes to be a faculty member and nurse academic administrator across three different academic settings--public, private, and for-profit--and provides an in-depth understanding of the key differences among them. Chapters offer concrete tips and suggestions for applying to and working in different types of institutions, and candidly discuss "things I wish I had known" and "lessons learned." The advice in this text discusses specific strategies for each academic setting, covering the nuances of fundraising and advancement, marketing and public relations, recruitment of qualified and diverse faculty, budgeting and allocation of resources, and other topics to promote an informed decision when seeking a career path that is a good fit and a job that provides overall satisfaction. Key FeaturesDescribes both the specifics and the nuances of requisite faculty leadership skills in public, private, and for-profit/career school settings--the first book to do soWritten by three experienced deans of nursing who offer concrete tips and reveal the secrets of successful academic leadership for informed decision makingIncludes candid author commentary regarding "things I wish I had known" and "lessons learned"Designed for instructors who wish to expand leadership skills within their teaching roles, those who seek administrative positions, and those who are new to academic leadershipWritten in an accessible style for faculty at all levels of experience
CINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Watch a brief tutorial on searching in the CINAHL database
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Access includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995.
Watch a brief tutorial on searching in the OVID Nursing Full Text Plus database
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Click on the hyperlinked title to learn more. You may need to log in with your WilmU credentials or refresh the screen to access these eBooks.
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by Sally A. Weiss; Ruth M. Tappen; Karen GrimleyEasy-to-read and understand coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Historical perspectives on nursing today Information on career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Beginning- and end-of-chapter case studies that promote clinical reasoning Content on evidence-based practice, situational leadership, staffing, diversity, and team building Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Detailed information on the NCLEX exam Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
How to Be a Nurse or Midwife Leader by David Ashton; Jamie Ripman; Philippa WilliamsHow to be a Nurse or Midwife Leader is an indispensable guide for all nurses and midwives who wish to develop and improve their practice as leaders. Written in collaboration with the NHS Leadership Academy, this practical book draws on the real experience of over 10,000 nurses and midwives to bring leadership dilemmas to life in specific situations. Key learning features include: How to develop your self-awareness How to develop your personal impact and presence How to survive and thrive How to get your message across How to get the best out of others How to work with and lead other professionals and patients How to have courageous conversations How to balance conflicting demands and needs Containing exercises and reflective questions to help apply theory to leadership practice, How to be a Nurse or Midwife Leader is an ideal companion for all nurses and midwives, whether you are newly qualified, or stepping into a team leader role.
Publication Date: 2017-02-06
Nursing Delegation and Management of Patient Care by Kathleen Motacki; Kathleen BurkeWith a strong focus on the key areas included on the NCLEX-RN Exam's "management of care" section, Nursing Delegation and Management of Patient Care, 2nd Edition prepares you to successfully prioritize, assign, and delegate nursing care to other members of the health care team. It provides the latest information on the roles and responsibilities of the staff nurse related to the management of patient care, the core competencies required of the nurse caring for patients, as well as a wide range of leadership and management concepts nurses need to confidently manage patients within a hospital unit. This new edition is organized according to the new 2014 Magnet Standards of Practice to help you learn the skills and competencies magnet status hospitals require when hiring nurses. Learning objectives, key terms, critical thinking case scenarios, and application exercises in each chapter provide you with plenty of opportunities for review. A trusted author team with years of teaching experience in nursing leadership and management introduce current content related to the management of patient care in today's health care setting. NEW! A new table of contents reorganized according to the 2014 Magnet Standards. NEW! Addresses the competencies of the nurse's role with respect to the 2014 Magnet Standards. Coverage includes the latest information on the roles and responsibilities of the manager of patient care position, core competencies required of nurses caring for patients, and a wide range of management concepts new nurses need to know before entering practice. Emphasis on the NCLEX Exam "management of care" areas that you will be tested on, such as prioritization, delegation, and assignment. Clinical Corner and Evidence-Based Practice boxes within most chapters include real-world tips and advice on patient and client management, plus the latest research on practices relevant to chapter topics. NEW! End-of-chapter and Evolve NCLEX questions include analysis and application-level questions. NEW! The latest RN design gives this edition a fresh new feel that is easier to follow.
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Transformational Leadership in Nursing, Second Edition by Elaine Marshall; Marion E. BroomeThis award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings. With contributions from expert scholars and clinicians in the humanities, natural and social sciences, organizational studies, business, nursing, and other health care sciences, this inspirational text fulfills the DNP core competencies as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of DNP Education. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded to incorporate new leadership challenges resulting from health care reformExpands the scope of leadership to encompass emerging health care contexts, transformation of vision, and practice innovations Includes a new chapter addressing transformative leadership vis- -vis changing health care perspectives Presents a new chapter describing emerging contexts for health care and how to build a respectful culture in which emerging leaders can thriveIncludes updated tools, health care paradigms, and leadership inspiration Presents cases and reflective questions that help students apply the theoretical content to their own situations and generate discussion across cohorts of students Key Features: Written expressly for APRNs transitioning into leadership rolesGrounded in competencies and essentials of doctorate education for advanced nursing practiceTraces the trajectory from expert clinician to role of leader of complex organizations and patient populationsDraws from experts in the humanities, natural and social sciences, business, nursing, and health care
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Brendan McCormack (Editor); Tanya McCance (Editor)Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Publication Date: 2016, eBook
Project Management for the Advanced Practice Nurse by Carolyn SipesDESCRIBES THE FUNDAMENTALS OF PROJECT MANAGEMENT FOR NURSES While many books exist on project management in health care, most are written from the perspective of a hospital's upper leadership. This is the first resource to encompass the specific knowledge base and skills required for graduate-level nurses and students to effectively perform the duties of a project manager. Based on proven project management principles, the text defines concepts specifically for APNs and APNs with a DNP degree, and enables them to apply processes used in the business operations side of a health care organization. The book describes the fundamentals of project design step by step, from needs assessment through project closing. It provides detailed examples of tools used by project managers, describes how to apply these tools in the management of a complex health care work environment, and identifies key concepts critical to project success. The text demonstrates how APNs can harness the skills and organizational frameworks they already use to manage patient care and outcomes to improve systems care and implement change in complex medical systems. It describes in depth the five basic concepts of project management, including the basics of monitoring timelines, design and planning, implementation, monitoring and control, and project closing.
Publication Date: 2015 eBook
Toxic Nursing, Second Edition by Cheryl DellasegaToday's nurse managers--tasked with a wide array of responsibilities from staffing and budgeting to promoting safe and effective patient care--face unprecedented demands in their role as leaders of the largest healthcare workforce in the industry. They must be clinically competent, relationally savvy, and administratively gifted--and find the time to create and sustain a healthy work environment.
Publication Date: 2020 eBook
The Well-Managed Healthcare Organization by Kenneth R. White; John R. GriffithIn the shifting world of contemporary healthcare, future leaders need a firm foundation. For eight editions, The Well-Managed Healthcare Organization has been building students' skills, and this ninth edition once again prepares students to apply evidence-based practices that lead to high performance in healthcare organizations of all types and sizes.
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner by Julie G. Stewart; Susan M. DeNiscoRole Development for the Nurse Practitioner, Second Edition is an integral text that guides students in their transition from the role of registered nurse to nurse practitioner. The text provides a comprehensive framework for interactive discussions on the role of the nurse practitioner, giving students a full understanding of the skills and knowledge needed for this dynamic profession.