Healthcare Research and Evidence Based Practice: Health Science Web Resources

Site produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.

A website within formation about conferences, events, publications, scientific advances and links to other excellent sites.

Information on this site can be useful for professionals and the general public. Highlights of the site include a link to “faststats” health related statistics organized by state or major illness. The A-Z index lists more than 500 health related topics and diseases or visitors can easily search the entire site by using their searchbox.

General nursing practice links from ANA (American Nurses Association).

The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to create this database, which is a subset of PubMed.

Core reference source for government-compiled health statistics. Provides trend tables that are updated as new data becomes available.

Contains statistics on selected diseases reported to the Center for Disease Control by state health departments.

Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of healthcare.

NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

The NNLM has gathered an excellent and varied selection of resources for nursing and health professionals.

Their site contains extensive links to reference material such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, reports, online publications.

This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

As a service to the community, the content of The Manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. The Online Medical Library is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.

A website that offers a directory of online journals freely available on the web. Journals are organized by both title and specialty.

The “Web Sites of Interest” section located on Kent State’s Library page leads to many excellent online sources of nursing information for professionals and the general public.

This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, contains a wealth of information including news, tutorials, a dictionary,a medical encyclopedia, surgery videos, and links to additional “resources that provide online health information.”

A free peer-reviewed online journal published jointly by The American Nurses Association and the Kent State University College of Nursing. “It presents different perspectives on topics that affect nursing practice, research, and education, thus enabling readers to understand the full complexity of a particular topic.”

Internet resources for nurses.