Subject/Research Guides: Healthcare Research and Evidence Based Practice: Evidence in Articles

Search Journals by Title

If you have identified a specific journal title needed for your research, such as Journal of Allied Health, use the Library Journal Locator to see if the library provides electronic access. You can also choose to browse titles by subject such as Social Sciences or Law, Politics, and Government.

Library Journal Locator This link opens in a new window
Search for journals by title and link to full text articles if available.

Find Articles in Library Databases for Health Professions

Click on a database to begin searching for journal articles and other materials. You will be redirected to a login screen to enter your myWilmU email address and password.

MEDLINE - Use the "Clinical Queries" limiter to search for the best evidence-producing studies.

PsycINFO - Select "Clinical Case Study," "Systematic Review," or "Meta-Analysis" limiter under Methodology.

CINAHL - Use "Clinical Queries" and/or select the "Evidence Based Practice" Special Interest filter.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides easy access to 1,400 top nursing and allied health journals with full text dating back to 1937 and information for more than 50 nursing specialties, including speech language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, along with evidence-based care sheets, research instruments and quick lessons. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
OVID Nursing Full Text PLUS This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing Full Text PLUS is a comprehensive single source of premier current journal content from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. Access includes 33 research and 12 practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995.
Nursing eBooks (R2 Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library offers health science eBooks from leading publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections. As a web-based ePlatform, the R2 Digital Library offers seamless eBook access on desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones and web-capable eReaders.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Springer Online is an electronic journal service that provides access to the full text of over 2500 journals published by Springer (the combination of the former Springer-Verlag and Kluwer Academic Publishers).
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes the complete text of Opposing Viewpoints and other series, including Teen Decisions and At Issue. Use this database to find opinion essays and factual research information on current topics and social issues.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 serials, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 592,000 photos, maps and flags.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis. In addition, this database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

Open Access Databases

These journals are scholarly, peer-reviewed research, just like journals in the WilmU Library databases. The difference is that open access articles are paid for by the government, foundations, or advertisers, so they're freely available to readers.

Selected Articles on Evidence Based Practice

An Evidence-Based Approach to Influencing Evidence-Based Practice in Allied Health, 2016 Wilkinson, Shelley & Hough, Judith & Hinchliffe, F.. (2016). An Evidence-Based Approach to Influencing Evidence-Based Practice in Allied Health. Journal of allied health. 45. 41-48.
Evidence based practice profiles: Differences among allied health professions, 2010 McEvoy, M.P., Williams, M.T. & Olds, T.S. Evidence based practice profiles: Differences among allied health professions. BMC Med Educ 10, 69 (2010). https://doi.org/10.1186/1472-6920-10-69
Implementation of evidence-based practice across medical, nursing, pharmacological and allied healthcare professionals, 2013 Weng, Y., Kuo, K.N., Yang, C. et al. Implementation of evidence-based practice across medical, nursing, pharmacological and allied healthcare professionals: a questionnaire survey in nationwide hospital settings. Implementation Sci 8, 112 (2013). https://doi.org/10.1186/1748-5908-8-112
Evidence synthesis - knowledge translation strategies to put research into practice in allied health - a systematic review, 2011 Scott, S. D. , Albrecht, L. , O'Leary, K. , Ball, G. D. , Dryden, D. M. , Hartling, L. , Hofmeyer, A. , Jones, C. A. , Burns, K. K. , Newton, A. S. , Thompson, D. & Klassen, T. P. (2011). Evidence synthesis - knowledge translation strategies to put research into practice in allied health - a systematic review. International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare, 9(3), 300–301.

Healthcare Research and Evidence Based Practice: Evidence in Articles

Selected Health Science Journals

Search Journals by Title

Find Articles in Library Databases for Health Professions

Open Access Databases

Selected Articles on Evidence Based Practice