Clinical Judgement and Decision-Making in Nursing and Inter-Professional Healthcare by Mooi Standing"Mooi Standing's book provides an excellent application of the principal concepts of Cognitive Continuum Theory; her presentation is clear, accurate and her inferences show that she has a first rate grasp of the implications of the theory, and what it means for the care of patients. Her work should stand as a monument to the application of psychological theory to nursing care." Professor Emeritus Kenneth R. Hammond, University of Colorado, USA "This new text is a first in its ability to offer support to advanced practitioners ... Each chapter gives insight into the professional requirements for advanced decision making and retains sight of the practical domain in which these decisions are carried out. Readers will improve their understanding, enhance their abilities in complex care situations and be confident in their ability to function at a higher level of practice." Shirley Bach, Head of School, School of Nursing and Midwifery, University of Brighton, UK "This is an excellent book if you are completing a module on decision making. It is well set out and easy to read with examples to explain. Well worth buying." Amazon Reviewer Sound clinical judgement and decision-making is vital to delivery of high quality, patient-centred, nursing and interprofessional healthcare. This book integrates the theory and practice of decision-making to guide and enhance practitioners' understanding and clinical expertise. Mooi Standing presents relevant, contemporary theory and research that relates decision-making to: Professional identity Organization of healthcare Developing knowledge and skills Selecting and applying the most appropriate intervention in clinical practice Real case studies written by various advanced practitioners demonstrate how to apply theory to practice in reviewing, explaining and continually developing clinical judgement and decision-making skills. A patient's account of care received for a serious illness provides a valuable patient-centred insight. The author's new 'reflexive-pragmatism' model summarizes the key knowledge, skills, values and processes of clinical judgement and decision-making, for readers to apply in reviewing and enhancing their own clinical practice. Extensive reflective activities and self assessment tools are included throughout the book. Clinical Judgement and Decision-Making is essential reading for qualified nurses, midwives and allied health professionals undertaking CPD modules in judgement and decision-making, evidence-based practice and reflective practice or studying to be advanced practitioners. Contributors: Kate Dewar, Carolyn Jackson, Peter Ellis, Antonio Sama, Roger Goldsmith, Elizabeth Duck, Douglas MacInnes, Susan Plummer, Hesham Hassan, Michael Standing
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Health Analytics by Jason BurkeA hands-on, analytics road map for health industry leaders The industry-wide transformation taking place across the healthand life sciences ecosystem is mandating that organizations adoptnew decision-making capabilities, based on science and real-worldinformation. Analytics will be a required competency for the modernhealth enterprise; this book is about how to "cross the chasm." Theultimate analytics guide for the health industry leader, thisessential book equips business leaders with little-to-no experiencein analytics to understand how to incorporate analytics as acornerstone of their 21st century competitive businessstrategy. Paints the picture for a new health enterprise, one focused onthe patient Explores the financial components of this new operating model,using analytics to optimize the tradeoffs between cost andvalue Deals with the rising role of the consumer, using analytics tocreate a completely new health engagement model with individualrecipients of care Looks at how analytics can drive innovations in care practice,patient-experienced medical outcomes, and analytically driven noveltherapies optimized for the individual patient Presents a variety of text, tables, and graphics illustratingthe various concepts being described Within each section and chapter, Health Analyticsassesses the current landscape, proposing a new model/concept,sharing real-world stories of how the old and new world cometogether, and framing a "how-to" for the reader in terms of growingthat particular set of capabilities in their own enterprises.
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs by Muriel J. HarrisA practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors.
Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Essentials of Nursing Research by Denise F. Polit; Cheryl Tatano BeckThis eighth edition ofEssentials of Nursing Research, written by AJN award-winning authors, along with its accompanyingStudy Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research,student learning ancillaries, and instructor teaching materials present a unique learning-teaching package that is designed to teach students how to read and critique research reports, and to appreciate the application of research findings to nursing practice.
Simple Tools to Facilitate Project Management of a Nursing Research ProjectHighly organized project management facilitates rigorous study implementation. Research involves gathering large amounts of information that can be overwhelming when organizational strategies are not used. We describe a variety of project management and organizational tools used in different studies that may be particularly useful for novice researchers. The studies were a multisite study of caregivers of stroke survivors, an Internet-based diary study of women with migraines, and a pilot study testing a sleep intervention in mothers of low-birth-weight infants. Project management tools were used to facilitate enrollment, data collection, and access to results. The tools included protocol and eligibility checklists, event calendars, screening and enrollment logs, instrument scoring tables, and data summary sheets. These tools created efficiency, promoted a positive image, minimized errors, and provided researchers with a sense of control. For the studies described, there were no protocol violations, there were minimal missing data, and the integrity of data collection was maintained.
Making It Meaningful: Finding Quality Improvement Projects Worthy of Your Time, Effort, and ExpertiseThe article is a brainstorming session
on paper, written to assist nurses and managers in identifying possible quality improvement projects that
are meaningful to them and will make a real difference in their critical care units. Every unit and institution
has its own unique mix of resources, culture, physical environment, patient population, technology, documentation processes, health care providers, and multiple other factors. Thus specific patient care and safety
challenges must be identified and prioritized individually for quality improvement by each unit. Projects
also must be manageable and within the scope of time, effort, and expertise available—no quality improvement project is “too small” if it is applicable to your critical care area and will improve outcomes.
Planning for Implementation of Evidence-Based PracticeExpectations for evidence-based healthcare are growing, yet the most difficult step in the process, implementation, is often left to busy nursing leaders who may be unprepared for the challenge. Selecting from the long list of implementation strategies and knowing when to apply them are a bit of an ‘‘art,’’ matching clinician needs and organizational context. This article describes an application oriented resource that nursing leaders can use to plan evidence-based practice implementation in complex healthcare systems.