This page contains content relevant for the DNP 7000 Bioethics for Advanced Nursing Practice course.
This most noteworthy and authoritative collection of 67 essays...represents 'the Penn way of doing bioethics' ....The Penn Center is widely known for multidisciplinary scholarship that emphasizes empirical inquiry on bioethical issues coupled with practical application(s)....The book provides excellent coverage of...both classical topics (e.g., informed consent, infertility, eugenics) and emerging issues (e.g., cloning, nonprofessional caregiving, privacy of thought in the age of brain imaging).
The Blackwell Guide to Medical Ethics is a guide to the complex literature written on the increasingly dense topic of ethics in relation to the new technologies of medicine. Examines the key ethical issues and debates which have resulted from the rapid advances in biomedical technology Brings together the leading scholars from a wide range of disciplines, including philosophy, medicine, theology and law.
In this timely book, Jonathan D. Moreno takes up some of the most important questions in clinical ethics today. Moreno's view is that moral values emerge out of human experience, a view that creates a compelling conceptual framework for bioethics.
Through an exploration of the ethical nature of nursing, Caring Matters Most asserts that the act of nursing itself embodies goodness. Nurses can develop this moral character in themselves by cultivating five habits: trustworthiness, imagination, beauty, space, and presence. Practicing these habits will sustain nurses as they meet the challenges of the workplace, the threat of automation, and the incivilities that arise within the nursing community.
The authors take the reader on a journey through complex material by focusing on the agreement between professional and patient within the framework of ethical standards and the contexts of situation and knowledge. Scenarios and case studies make the proposed dilemmas come alive and will stimulate discussion that will make practice more individualized.
Newly revised and updated, the Second Edition of this leading ethics textbook integrates nursing ethics content throughout the nursing curriculum, preparing students and professionals for moral issues encountered in daily practice. Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice derives its theoretical foundations from clinical evidence and case studies. Emphasizing the collaborative nurse-patient relationship in care, this text includes decision-making approaches and models, rationale for decisions, and management of care for various situations.
Written specifically for nurses who are at the front lines of health care in hospitals, outpatient clinics, surgery centers, home health care settings, etc, this author emphasizes real world ethical challenges for nurses. The book provides guidelines on current and future ethical challenges, how to have moral courage and project the readers own voice, and an overall guide to communication and ethics consultation.
More relevant today than ever, Husted's classic nursing ethics text provides a practical framework to help nurses engage with patients to make difficult ethical decisions. It delivers a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify situations where "right" and "wrong" are not clearly defined. An abundance of case studies provides practice in bioethical decision making, with nearly 45 bioethical dilemmas analyzed in detail.
Applied Ethics in Nursing provides an easily understandable guide to the kind of ethical dilemmas you face in practice. Using a question-and-answer format along with numerous case studies, this text offers best practices and strategies for approaching the difficult problems commonly found in clinical practice. This book also addresses organizational and institutional issues that can confound or promote ethically sound decision making. Each chapter ends with a resource list of websites and recommendations for further reading. The American Nurses' Association Code of Ethics for Nurses is used as a guide throughout, along with standards and guidelines from other major healthcare and governmental organizations.
Bioethics
Bioethics--Religious Aspects
Genetic Engineering
Health--Religious Aspects
Medical Ethics
Medical Genetics
Medicine--Religious Aspects
Pastoral Medicine
Below are MeSH Headings, which can be used with Cinahl.
National Library of Medicine's subject thesauri. MeSH uses the inverted form of main heading i.e. Ethics, Nursing. It also uses the word "ethics" as a subdivision with other major topics.
MeSH Sample headings:
Ethics, Clinical
Bioethical Issues
Biomedical Technology -- ethics
Delivery of Health Care -- ethics
Professional-Patient Relations -- ethics
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
