Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted.(italics, double spacing or indents)
Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted. (italics, double spacing or indents)
Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted. (italics, double spacing or indents)
Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted. (italics, double spacing or indents)
Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted. (italics, double spacing or indents)
Click on the article title to access the full text of the article. Citations are listed below the title, but are not formatted. (italics, double spacing or indents)
Part VIII Case Studies in Diversity - A practical approach to understanding social work concepts in action that integrates theory and practice In this updated edition of the classic social work text, students and instructors have access to real-world demonstrations of how social work theories and concepts can be applied in practice. The case studies in this book bridge the gap between the classroom and the field by allowing students to discover the when, why, and how of social work principles. Brief but comprehensive topic overviews are brought to life by case studies that apply general theories to the work of social work. Each of the book's nine sections cover an essential area of social work, encompassing the micro, mezzo, and macro level.
This book provides a comprehensive understanding of the opportunities for all of us working with vulnerable populations to develop thoughtful, workable programs. The topics presented are not limited to the severely mentally ill, but it is an encyclopedia of resources and creative options for service to veterans, the homeless, the elderly. This book challenges us to think creatively and develop programs and services for the people in our society who are most often overlooked and forgotten." Alan E. Siegel, Ed.D. Chief, Mental Health Service, MIT Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Over the past decade, public services have come under increasing pressure to perform like private-sector organisations. This study demonstrates that professionals have much leeway in coping with changes caused by IT developments, distributed knowledge and more demanding public which have all created new pressures on public services. The authors conclude that rather than demanding more autonomy and space, public service professionals need renewed and workable professional standards.
Chapter 7 - Using Data to Drive Change and Achieve Impact - This is the first guide to achieving long-term impact and social change by employing critical strategies in the health and human services sector. It is based on lessons from a learning lab of 20 human services organizations and their chief strategy officers who, as part of the "Strategy Counts" initiative, engineered significant improvements in their ability to adjust to change, reap the benefits of more data-driven decisions, innovate in ways that have meaningful impact, and establish fruitful partnerships with companies, communities, and government.
This informative and incisively written edited collection brings together experts from around the world to explore the tension between a normative and a political base of social work and social development and, therefore, to address the question: how can social work and social policies contribute to the endeavor to respect, protect and fulfill human rights? This volume will show that there is no straightforward answer to this question owing to the clash between different sociocultural and local conditions and demands for universal human rights.
This report describes a framework used to organize available empirical information on one form of performance-based management, a performance-based accountability system (PBAS), which identifies individuals or organizations that must change their behavior to improve an activity's performance, an incentive structure to motivate those changes, and measures tailored to inform the incentive structure.
New edition of a classic guide to ensuring effective organizational performance Thoroughly revised and updated, the second edition of Managing and Measuring Performance in Public and Nonprofit Organizations is a comprehensive resource for designing and implementing effective performance management and measurement systems in public and nonprofit organizations. The ideas, tools, and processes in this vital resource are designed to help organizations develop measurement systems to support such effective management approaches as strategic management, results-based budgeting, performance management, process improvement, performance contracting, and much more. The book will help readers identify outcomes and other performance criteria to be measured, tie measures to goals and objectives, define and evaluate the worth of desired performance measures, and analyze, process, report, and utilize data effectively.
You can use these recommended journals to search for articles, or go to the Find Articles tab in the guide to search databases.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy