Skip to Main Content

Human Services, Master of Science Degree

Differences between Qualitative and Quantitative Research

QUALITATIVE QUANTITATIVE
Methods include focus groups, unstructured or in-depth interviews, and reviews of documents for types of themes Surveys, structured interviews, measurements & observations, and reviews of records or documents for numeric or quantifiable information
Primarily inductive process used to formulate theory or hypotheses Primarily deductive process used to test pre-specified concepts, constructs, and hypotheses that make up a theory
More subjective: describes a problem or condition from the point of view of those experiencing it More objective: provides observed effects (interpreted by researchers) of a program on a problem or condition
Text-based Number-based
More in-depth information on a few cases Less in-depth but more breadth of information across a large number of cases
Unstructured or semi-structured response options Fixed response options, measurements, or observations
No statistical tests Statistical tests are used for analysis
Less generalizable More generalizable

Adapted from https://www.orau.gov/

Suggested eBooks

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation

Click here for Section on Experimental Designs

In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. 

Research Methods and Statistics for Public and Nonprofit Administrators

Link to Chapter 16 of this eBook - Using Research Methods for Continuous Improvement: Program Evaluation and Performance Measurement

Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs

A practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. 

Health Program Management

Learn how to effectively plan, implement, and evaluate health programs Health Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation, Second Edition is a practical and useful introduction to the management of health programs. While providing an overview of the current best practices in management, the textbook goes beyond simple management techniques, teaching students how to develop, lead, and evaluate their programs to ensure quality outcomes. The focus is on the three core management concepts of strategy, design, and leadership, but time is also devoted to describing facilitative management activities integral to successful programs. Students will learn techniques for communication, decision-making, quality assurance, marketing, and program evaluation within the structure of the book's program management model. 

Human Services Management

This book assists participants in human service organizations in understanding the dynamics that are shaping such organizations. Austin's comprehensive analysis of human services management examines the historical development and program structures of such organizations; their stakeholders, including users, personnel, funders, and policy boards; and the organizational processes of accountability and dealing with change.

Doing Qualitative Research in Social Work

Bringing key developments and debates together in a single volume, this book provides an authoritative guide for students and practitioners embarking on qualitative research in social work and related fields.  Frequently illustrated with contemporary and classic case examples from the authors' own empirical research and from international published work, and with self-directed learning tasks, the book provides insight into the difficulties and complexities of carrying out research, as well as sharing 'success' stories from the field. Shaw and Holland have long experience of writing for practitioners and students and in making complex concepts accessible and readable, making this an ideal text for those engaging in qualitative social work research at any level.  Ian Shaw is a Professor of Social Work at the University of York and at the University of Aalborg. Sally Holland is a Reader in Social Work at the School of Social Sciences in Cardiff University.

The Handbook of Social Work Research Methods

In the field of social work, qualitative research is starting to gain more prominence as are mixed methods and various issues regarding race, ethnicity and gender. These changes in the field are reflected and updated in The Handbook of Soical Work Research Methods, Second Edition. This text contains meta analysis, designs to evaluate treatment and provides the support to help students harness the power of the Internet. This handbook brings together leading scholars in research methods in social work.