Subject/Research Guides: Human Services, Master of Science Degree: AHS 6610

Assignment Resources

Articles

Building Managerial and Organizational Capacity in Nonprofit Human Service Organizations Through a Leadership Development Program.
Implementing Challenging Policy and Systems Change: Identifying Leadership Competencies.
Leadership styles and decision-making models among corporate leaders in non-profit organizations in North America.
Exploring the Relationship Between Leadership Communication Style, Personality Trait, and Organizational Productivity.
Managerial Leadership Competencies: A Practice-Oriented Action Role Framework.

The Performance Appraisal Question and Answer Book by Richard C. Grote
ISBN: 9780814426692

Articles

The Stuff That Makes a Difference is part of a video series designed to help managers think differently about their interactions with employees. This video gets into building a performance plan from the beginning.

Morris, S. (2016, May 20). Effective performance planning [Video file]. https://youtu.be/0fqgvg82XSs

Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations by Michael Allison; Jude Kaye The bestselling guide to nonprofit planning, with proven, practical advice Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations describes a proven method for creating an effective, organized, actionable strategy, tailored to the unique needs of the nonprofit organization. Now in its third edition, this bestselling manual contains new information about the value of plans, specific guidance toward business planning, and additional information about the strategic plan document itself. Real-world case studies illustrate different planning and implementation scenarios and techniques, and the companion website offers templates, tools, and worksheets that streamline the process. The book provides expert insight, describing common misperceptions and pitfalls to avoid, helping readers craft a strategic plan that adheres to the core values of the organization. A well-honed strategic plan helps nonprofit managers set priorities, and acquire and allocate the resources necessary to achieve their goals. It also provides a framework for handling challenges, and keeps the focus on the organization's priorities. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations is an excellent source of guidance for managers at nonprofits of every size and budget, helping readers to: Identify the reasons for planning, and gather information from internal and external stakeholders Assess the current situation accurately, and agree on priorities, mission, values, and vision Prioritize goals and objectives for the plan, and develop a detailed implementation strategy Evaluate and monitor a changing environment, updating roles, goals, and parameters as needed Different organizations have different needs, processes, resources, and priorities. The one thing they have in common is the need for a no-nonsense approach to planning with practical guidance and a customizable framework. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations takes the fear out of planning, with expert guidance on the nonprofit's most vital management activity.
ISBN: 9781118769867
Publication Date: 2015-03-10

Strategic Planning Models
Writing the HRM Plan Human Resource Management is adapted from a work produced by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

Evaluation Toolkit: Create a Budget
Sample Worksite Health Budget
Examples of Budgets and Budget Narratives from Actual Proposals
Program Expense Budget Builder
Video and downloadable spreadsheet from strongnonprofits.org

Week 5 Program Budget Template
Use the template for your selected program.

Articles

Relationship between Executive Director and the Board

Interview Resources

Scholarly Articles for Board of Directors and Executive Leadership Roles

Advocacy

Networking

Suggested Journals

You can use these recommended journals to search for articles, or go to the Find Articles tab in the guide to search databases.

Journal of Human Resource Management Articles published in the JHRM should bring new insights into topics related to human resource management, especially in: Strategic human resource management International and global human resource management Human resource management functions (HR planning, recruitment and selection, training and development, employee motivation, evaluation and compensation, career management, employee turnover, industrial relations, etc.) Future trends in human resource management Cross-cultural aspects of human resource management
Human Resource Development Quarterly Human Resource Development Quarterly (HRDQ) is the first scholarly journal focused directly on the evolving field of human resource development (HRD). It provides a central focus for research on human resource development issues as well as the means for disseminating such research. HRDQ recognizes the interdisciplinary nature of the HRD field and brings together relevant research from the related fields, such as economics, education, management, sociology, and psychology. It provides an important link in the application of theory and research to HRD practice. HRDQ publishes scholarly work that addresses the theoretical foundations of HRD, HRD research, and evaluation of HRD interventions and contexts.
Journal of Human Resources
Nonprofit Management & Leadership Brings together knowledge about special needs, challenges, & opportunities of nonprofit organizations & offers insights on common concerns of nonprofit leaders in all settings.
Human Service Organizations: Management, Leadership & Governance Human Service Organizations is a leading, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to current research and practice in nonprofit and public sector human service organizations. Since 1977, it has provided timely and relevant research for human service managers, researchers and educators (originally established as Administration in Social Work). Building on a history of social service management, social policy implementation, and organizational research, the Editorial Advisory Board seeks manuscripts related to contemporary management, leadership, and governance issues facing human service organizations.
Human Resource Management
Human Resource Management Review The Human Resource Management Review (HRMR) is a quarterly academic journal devoted to the publication of scholarly conceptual/theoretical articles pertaining to human resource management and allied fields (e.g. industrial/organizational psychology, human capital, labor relations, organizational behavior).
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly (NVSQ), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, is an international, interdisciplinary journal for nonprofit sector research dedicated to enhancing our knowledge of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and voluntarism by providing cutting-edge research, discussion, and analysis of the field. NVSQ provides a forum for researchers from around the world to publish timely articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.
Nonprofit Business Advisor Covers business, financial, tax and management trends for nonprofit organizations and monitors new laws from the IRS and other regulators.

Suggested eBooks

Human Resources in Research and Practice

Covering a broad spectrum of topics on HR management that are essential in today's global world, this compilation includes real-life experiences and perspectives of HR professionals to illustrate the many challenges and opportunities encountered in the field. These articles offer insight into many aspects of the HR profession, including organization development, staffing management, employee relations, and effective communication. Demonstrating how HR can contribute to the success of the company's strategy, mission, and goals, this record will be of interest to professionals and academics who will value the scope and depth of information.

The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Training, Development, and Performance Improvement

The latest Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Organizational Psychology uses a psychological perspective, and a uniquely global focus, to review the latest literature and research in the interconnected fields of training, development, and performance appraisal. Maintains a truly global focus on the field with top international contributors exploring research and practice from around the world Offers researchers and professionals essential information for building a talented organization, a critical and challenging task for organizational success in the 21st century Covers a diverse range of topics, including needs analysis, job design, active learning, self-regulation, simulation approaches, 360-degree feedback, and virtual learning environments

The AMA Handbook of Leadership

The AMA Handbook of Leadership features insights from best-of-the-best thought leaders and executive leadership coaches on topics from talent development, the arts and leadership, and competitive advantage through leadership, to leading across cultures, sustainability, executive transition, and many more timeless (and timely) issues.