This is the "Websites vs Library Databases" page of the "Which to Use First? Websites vs Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Which to Use First? Websites vs Databases  

Information on the best way to start your research.
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wilmu.edu/websitesvsdatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Websites vs Library Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FREE WEB

General. Quick and easy for small tasks.

Broad sweep of all information openly available online.

 

Quality, type, and relevance of information

Search results are websites, ranked by relevancy determined by computer programs.

Unreliable for getting to deep archives, peer-reviewed or refereed content. Links to information that can be out of date and/or taken from sources unknown or open to question.

Note: same uncertainty holds true for Wikipedia-style encyclopedias; user-supplied content can be poorly sourced.

Google Scholar Searches can be done for more scholarly literature (newspapers, curriculum-relevant magazines and journal archives), but many are only available for a fee.

 

Organization, searching

Vast information pool of everything openly available on the Internet. May not search information stored in databases.

Provides keyword searching. May not have subject categories.

 

Research aids

Not much support.

 

Paid placements and ads

Ads and links are sought for profit can distract users from research task.

 

Bottom line

Free. Inconsistent—can be good for quick questions, but for academic research, time can be wasted viewing irrelevant websites or judging incomplete, false or misleading information. If used for research, back up with at least two other non-Web sources.

 

Which to Use First?

Information in this LibGuide provided by ProQuest

Original document can be found here.

 

WILMU LIBRARY ONLINE RESOURCES

Designed to help pinpoint information for research and class assignments.

Information chosen by librarians for relevance to curriculum, correlation to academic standards.

Student tested. Instructor approved.

 

Quality, type, and relevance of information

Search results are research solutions, ranked in order of relevance by professional researchers and subject experts.

Accurate. Reviewed and updated regularly.

Designed by librarians and end-users through advisory boards, interviews, and focused research.

Available for users for FREE through the library.

Access to full-text articles provided by linking technologies, no matter where the original information resides.

Reflects partnership with thousands of publishers to ensure copyrighted newspaper, magazine, and journal content is included in search results. Databases are more than raw data: also include maps, graphics, video and audio clips.

 

Organization, searching

High-value “microcosm” of the best and most relevant information available on a specific topic.

Natural language searching improves relevancy of results and maximizes research effort. Search by keyword, combination of keyword and subject, by date for most recent, relevant results.

 

Research aids

High quality finding aids. Structure and guided searches build research skills.

Features/functionality assists the research process (email capability, marking articles, “My Research” summaries, citation models), etc.

Remember, your librarian knows more than just books. They’re experts in finding hidden information if you get stumped.

 

Paid placements and ads

None. Library funds subscriptions, making access free to students and faculty.

 

Bottom line

Free to students and faculty 24/7 from anywhere with internet access. Consistently reliable for quality, relevant, reviewed content. If used, can result in more time to develop knowledge and actually write your research paper or complete your course assignment.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip