Basic Research Tips
HUM 310
Locating Research Information on Building Brain Power
This page will help you get started with searching for information on your topic using the Internet, WU's online catalog and electronic databases. If you need additional help you can request a library assistance session with a librarian or stop by or call our front desk for quick questions.
The Library Homepage can be found at http://www.wilmu.edu/library/index.aspx
Q: Can I use Google to locate credible websites on Brain Power?
A: Yes, using domains such as .edu or .gov you can locate good
websites on your topic. These two domains can only be created by
schools or government agencies.
With the advanced search features you can also use multiple words/synonyms along with your topic to narrow
your results. Note: This is just one of the ways that you can limit your search. Other popular options allow you to
limit by date such as the past year, by file type, by region, or by exact phrases.
ex.
brain power OR memory OR creative OR creativity OR games OR teasers OR enhancements OR creative thinking OR food OR games site:.edu
my keyword is brain, the string of words with OR between them will include sites that mention any or all of these words, and the site: will return
specific domains such as education sites(.edu) only. You can also use .gov, .org, .com etc.
Q:Where can I locate books on my topic?
A: The Delaware Library Catalog - a link is
under the "Research" heading on our homepage.
You can locate books and other materials at our libraries by using this catalog or if you can wait for materials to arrive from
other libraries/institutions you can search them as well!
I found 29 items searching on brain and memory, 2 under brain food, and 8 under brain games just to give you a sample of our holdings. If you search under just the word brain you will find many items. If you are looking for a book reference for your research, an e-book or electronic/digitized version of it may appear in your results. In other words, you can read or search the book online through a service called NetLibrary.
Q: How can I find newspaper, magazine, or research/journal articles on my topic?
A: Electronic Databases - it is the second link
under the "Research" heading on our homepage
Our library subscribes to between 40-50 research databases especially education, behavioral science, business, and nursing/health. You should be able to search quite a number of them on brain related topics! Some are specialized such as psychology and other are what we call multi-disciplinary meaning many subjects. In addition, some contain mostly research or journal articles while others include more newspapers, magazines, book chapters/reference materials, etc.
ex. A search in MasterFILE Premier, one of our EbscoHost databases using Brain AND memory yielded over 3,000 results including the following types of materials:
Q: How can I get help with APA Style?
A: Resources can be found online at sites such as OWL, The online writing lab at Purdue University, through this wiki on the front page menu, in print at the front desk of the library, and finally in the electronic databases where it is possible to print, email, and save citation information. Keep in mind that their formatting may have errors and that your citations should be checked before submitting! You may also see links on the library homepage and on other university pages and handouts in various places around campus.
Find Articles in Library Databases for HUM 310
Click on a database to begin searching for journal articles and other materials. You will be redirected to Blackboard to enter your username and password to gain access to the database.
- Academic Search PremierThis academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference offers online access to more than 500 hundred highly-regarded titles including dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more from over 70 publishers and covers every major subject.
- Encyclopedia Britannica OnlineEncyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition brings together the world-renowned content of the encyclopedia, with the speed and convenience of the Internet.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World EncyclopediaThis database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Humanities International CompleteHumanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
- MasterFILE PremierThis multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
- Sage Journals OnlineSage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
- WorldCatThe WorldCat database contains the merged catalogs of thousands of libraries and is collectively maintained by those libraries. Cataloged items span thousands of years and nearly every form of human expression. Records exist for physical items, electronic content, born-digital works and digitally preserved artifacts.
Instruction Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Library Journal Locator
Find journals by title and link to full text.
- Library Journal LocatorSearch for journals by title and link to full text articles if available.



Loading...
