Find Textbooks
This is the "Home" page of the "SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology  

Guide for the students of Introduction to Sociology to find the resources they need.
Last Updated: May 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.wilmu.edu/IntroSociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Journal Locator

Find journals by title and link to full text.

Find Articles in Library Databases for SOC 101

Click on a database to begin searching for journal articles and other materials. You will be redirected to Blackboard to enter your username and password to gain access to the database.

  • Academic Search Premier
    This academic multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
  • Ageline
    AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. AgeLine also includes selected consumer content.
  • Annual Reviews  Icon
    Annual Reviews is a full-text database covering the fields of law, social sciences, psychology and sociology. The database synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each of these disciplines. The database also includes the table of contents for many other disciplines.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete  Icon
    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for over 390 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of 200 more, for a combined coverage of nearly 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for more than 285 journals.
  • Credo Reference
    Credo Reference offers online access to more than 500 hundred highly-regarded titles including dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more from over 70 publishers and covers every major subject.
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
    The database includes abstract and indexing for over 230 U.S. and international criminal justice journals with more than 75 available in full-text. The database provides research support for criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
  • Education Research Complete
    Education Research Complete offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,774 biographies, 100,554 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 202,164 photos, maps and flags.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  Icon
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) is a dynamic online library of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes the complete text of Opposing Viewpoints and other series, including Teen Decisions and At Issue. Use this database to find opinion essays and factual research information on current topics and social issues.
  • PsycARTICLES  Icon
    PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages.
  • Sage Journals Online
    Sage Journals Online provides access to approximately 460 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals published by Sage covering the disciplines of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.
  • SocINDEX
    SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 priority coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Janis McKnight
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip